We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,423)
Filter reviews
2,423 results
Traveller rating
1,897
370
107
38
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,897
370
107
38
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red salt nespresso machine small hotel our honeymoon pool bar ocean front continental buffet poipu beach sushi chef breakfast package mega resorts macadamia nuts valet staff turn down service rain shower eggs benedict partial ocean view
Filter
Updating list...
516 - 521 of 2,423 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

We spent 6 nights at the Koa Kea. We are a family of four with 2 children aged 12 and 15. The resort is lovely but more suited to couples than children. The latter had various beach activities to enjoy (surfing lessons, boogie board hire etc, all of which were excellent). However there isn't much else for them to do and the pool is rightly a more calm zone than many larger resort pools!

Our rooms were stunning and well serviced. The food at the red salt restaurant excellent. You do pay for it but the quality of the cuisine was really good. The pool bar staff were really friendly and efficient too. My wife tried the spa for two treatments, one of which was average and one very good. The valet parking and bell desk guys were great too.

A couple of areas we felt let the property down given the price level: The restaurant staff were very good (particularly Chris who worked a very hard shift one night we ate in the restaurant!), but we felt they were understaffed with waiting staff both at breakfast and dinner. We also felt the front desk staff were not as welcoming or friendly, or as prepared to be helpful as we would expect.

All in all a good experience but improvements could be made.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
5  Thank rugbydudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Koa Kea Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Aloha e rugbydudley,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Koa Kea while vacationing in Kauai. We're delighted that you enjoyed the beauty of our guest rooms, as well as our savory cuisine and our deluxe amenities. We appreciate all the feedback you have supplied us with in your review and have shared your comments with the appropriate management teams at the resort. Additionally, we will be sure to share your comments with Chris, who will be truly pleased that you appreciated his exemplary service at Red Salt. We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Koa Kea in the future, should your travels bring you back to the island paradise of Poipu Beach.

Mahalo,

Dana Flower
Guest Services
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We really loved the resort, it was very cozy and has a great location. The concierge was very helpful and friendly. I would recommend at least getting a partial ocean view room. The hotel has a great lobby and lobby bar. Fitness center is nice. We will return next time we visit.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank naomifl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Koa Kea Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Aloha e naomifl73,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Koa Kea and for sharing your review with fantastic photos. We're so pleased that you had a lovely vacation at our resort, enjoying our cozy ambiance, spectacular oceanfront location, and deluxe amenities. We truly appreciate the excellent rating you have awarded us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Koa Kea soon!

Mahalo,

Dana Flower
Guest Services
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The staff was SO friendly and helpful--everyone! They imbue the hotel with the "aloha" vibe beautifully! We so prefer a smaller hotel rather than huge resorts (like the ones on on either side of Koa Kea). It was a perfect fit for us. Dinner at the restaurant was terrific; there were lots of fun dining choices a short drive away as well. We would love to come back for another, longer stay at Koa Kea. Truly relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcschleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Koa Kea Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Aloha e mcschleg,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Koa Kea. We are so happy that our resort was such a perfect fit for the vacation you were looking for and we appreciate the excellent rating you have awarded us. It's a delight to know that you enjoyed the warm, friendly hospitality provided by our team of dedicated staff members, as well as the savory cuisine served at Red Salt and our unique, boutique atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you back to Koa Kea for another relaxing stay when your travels bring you, once again, to the island paradise of Kauai.

Mahalo,

Dana Flower
Guest Services
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and I spent two weeks in Hawaii for our honeymoon. The first was in Maui, and the stay at the Sheraton there was pretty bad. Although Maui is beautiful and fun, the hotel there put a damper on the start to our honeymoon. That said, the Koa Kea not only rescued the honeymoon; it absolutely blew us away. This is THE hotel for you to stay at if you're looking for a peaceful, relaxing, romantic getaway. The staff really does a great job catering to its guests and making them feel special. The grounds are beautiful, with a small beach in the back and a very nice pool directly in the middle. The pool bar and restaurant does a great job (try the coconut mojito), and Red Salt is perfect for breakfast or dinner. The dinner there was so good that we actually ate there twice. You will not be disappointed with the menu, the service, or the food- all top notch. I absolutely recommend the filet. Our room was cleaned several times per day, and the staff even sent us a complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate our honeymoon. This is the best hotel I've every stayed at, and we cannot wait to return for our anniversary. Thanks for making our honeymoon so special!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sigs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Koa Kea Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Aloha e Sigs11,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your honeymoon at Koa Kea and for taking the time to share your glowing review. We are absolutely thrilled to know that your time at our resort was so spectacular. It's a joy to know how much you enjoyed the beauty and romantic ambiance of Koa Kea, along with the stellar hospitality provided by our staff and the fabulous cuisine served in Red Salt. We truly appreciate the excellent rating you have awarded us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Koa Kea in celebration of your anniversary, if not before!

Mahalo,

Dana Flower
Guest Services
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

from the moment you drive into the driveway and are greeted by valet staff things change and you are transported to another time and space.

I've stayed at many many hotels so called 5 star around the globe....this one is right at the top. seriously the whole staff from front desk to housekeeping was spot on. this is the way a hotel is supposed to operate. ask for anything and you shall receive. if you're going to Poipu do yourselves a favor and stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ADUNNIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews