We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Terrible
1 review
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Kapaa, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Terrible - based on 1 review
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Martha F
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“DO NOT TRUST THIS OWNER/PROPERTY MANAGER”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
12
people found this review helpful

Through exceptional incompetence or callous dishonesty, or both, this property manager cancelled our reservation 10 days before our first day at this rental. We were actually on the airplane on the way to our first Kaua’I rental. We had reserved the rental six months in advance with down payment, and had paid in full three weeks in advance of the rental period, as required. Here are the original emails from the managers which we received at booking.

* Yes your dates are absolutely available!

* Thanks for paying the deposit for Stunning OCEANFRONT Home PERFECT Location!. I've updated the calendar to confirm your booking. Just to remind you, you'll need to pay the balance by 25 Nov 2017. You'll receive a reminder a week before the balance is due.

* Thanks for paying the balance for Stunning OCEANFRONT Home PERFECT Location!. Please get in touch if you have any questions. I hope you have a wonderful trip! All the best, Wayne/Marla Kelley

As you can see from these emails, at no time during the six-month pre-rental period was there a hint of anything amiss.

Yet, here’s the email we received 10 days before arrival:

* Hi,
The booking has been cancelled.
Thank you,

On the day of cancellation, no explanation was offered to us or to Flipkey. The manager/owner did not respond to our emails, or phone calls from Flipkey’s customer service. Until we tracked down the property manager on Kauai and left a voicemail that he owed us an explanation, we heard nothing. When he finally called back, he told us the rental was double booked (why did he just notice that 6 months after the fact?) and when asked who booked it first he sidestepped the question by saying that the “winning” renter was a long term renter who would rent through February. Only thru the incredible persistence and assistance of Flipkey and another good rental agency on the island did we find another 10 day rental over this sold-out Christmas and New Year period. Although this manager tried to find a rental (after we tracked him down), it was too little, too late!!! Flying our entire family of five here at considerable expense, we were actually facing the prospect of having no place to stay or having to return to the mainland. The emotional distress and potential financial loss this property manager's ineptitude and callousness subjected our entire family to cannot be dismissed. Avoid this rental at all costs, lest you too be subjected to such shabby treatment!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2018
I understand you are upset.
It was a simple human error that we will not make again.
As expressed deeply before, we are embarrassed and sorry for the horrible mistake.
As you know we spent a lot of time searching for accommodations for you. As a matter of fact you ended up renting the place I found for you.
When we spoke multiple times on the phone you were understanding and thankful for our concern and help.
Some of your words in the review are completely untrue. But being that the fault was entirely ours, we must accept your anger and lashing out.
God Bless and Aloha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing