We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Taste of Peaceful Paradise”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Hanalei, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tara F
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Taste of Peaceful Paradise”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful 11 nights and hope to return annually. To have a lovely, peaceful yurt in a quiet neighbourhood just steps from a beautiful beach was incredible. We found the yurt to be a good size for two people. We loved the outdoor shower. All communications with the property manager were friendly and helpful. We have rented several airbnb places and were pleasantly surprised how well equipped the place was in terms of extra towels, paper products, cooking appliances, etc. In December there were rip tide advisories out, but we spoke with locals and swam where they swam. And it's just a short drive to beaches with lifeguards and amenities. The reef comes right to shore so snorkeling was good mere feet from the beach. There is a little resort around the corner but most patrons stayed near the resort so it was easy to find a quiet spot on the beach. Sunrise and sunset walks were all but private. There are so many beaches on Kauai that it was mostly locals walking the beach with their dogs rather than visitors. We loved going to the local markets (a short drive away) to buy local produce and fresh fruit rather than eating out which we found expensive in Kauai. Do a bit of research, and you'll find this is a gem. I almost didn't want to write how much we loved it in case the secret gets out! Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
We look forward to your next visit with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H
Mill City, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not for us. Deceptive advertising.”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
6
people found this review helpful

I would agree with another's review that this location is amazing! Located across the street from a lovely beach was the best part.
-The reason I say "deceptive advertising" is that the pictures make it look like the hot tub and outside shower are near the yurt and private. The outside shower, although hot, was not in the least bit private other than you had walls around you. It was located across the yard and the neighbors porch oversaw the shower. Literally if there was someone on the neighbors porch they could see your head as you showered. Horrible location. I assumed the shower would be next to the yurt.
-Also, the hot tub is located under the house in a garage like area. We used it once. It was relaxing but again terrible location and a little deceptive in the advertisement.
-The grill worked but the grill area was completely rusty. Yes, we cooked our steaks on rust.
-The bathtub was nice but took forever to fill because the fixture was a kitchen sink fixture not for a tub so the water came out very slow.
-Bathroom sink was clogged and took forever to drain so we brushed our teeth in the kitchen sink.
-I have no problem paying a cleaning fee but $75 for such a tiny place that you are expected to clean half of it yourself is bad form on the owner's part.
-The bathroom walls did not go to the ceiling and the door was a curtain.

Best part was the location. I'm very disappointed that the advertising was so deceptive. What you see is not what you get. We have rented a lot of places and this is the first negative review I have left. Sorry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to the beach
Liked least: False advertising, shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2016
Aloha, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Were sorry that your stay was not what you were expecting.
We have taken some time to note on our website that the hot tub, bar b que , and outdoor shower are all located under the main house in a common area. We advertise the shower as a garden shower, which means in an outdoor setting. Though someone may be able to view the top of your head (or your feet) the shower is private and enclosed where a persons body is never visible.
We have also tended to the housekeeping issues mentioned (clogged sink and rust on bar b que) .
As the Yurt is a tent structure - the bathroom walls cannot go to the ceiling, this is common in yurts.
We are happy to hear that you appreciated our location, we agree -it is very special!
Aloha "Kimos Yurt"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bullingto...
San Bernardino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Expensive Tent”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Quick and to the point, overal we had a great time on vacation, the yurt wasn't all that but did have some nice features. First the pros.
1. Loved hearing the rain hit the roof at night
2. Secluded spot/ not very touristy
3. Beach is very close
4. Yard is well kept
5 friendly owner
6. Outdoor shower
Over all we had a good time but could of been better

Cons
1 to expensive for the quality ( kind of run down )
2. Couldn't get on wifi ( didn't have password )
3. Roof leaks in multiple spots
4. Needs updating
5. Lousy parking spot, as you don't realy have a good spot to park other than on the side of the drive way. Kind of have to see, take my word for it.
6. Refrigerater works poorly
7. No list of cable chanels, not the best tv. ( not a big deal )
8. Cd player doesn't work
9 accses to bbq, radio, etc on otherside of house oppiste of yurt ( not private )
10. Hot tub NOT IN ROOM pictures very diseaving as it looks like it is in yurt
11. Needs A/C the yurt is unbarably hot from 12 to 5.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: outside shower
Liked least: being charged 75 to clean place when we were done
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California, United States
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
17
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing