We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome place right by the beach in Hanalei Bay”
A cloudless sky in Hanalei
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cloudless sky in Hanalei
The property from the parking lot
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
A cloudless sky in Hanalei
The property from the parking lot
Comfortable in the suite
A Panorama of Hanalei Surfboard House from Weke Rd
Sleep well,under the painting that inspires the theme
Surfboards at the entrance on the street
The bathroom features vintage panelling and an amazing shower
Looking from the back to the front in the suite
Part of the garden with statues and bowling balls
Grill up a tasty meal on your private BBQ
Elegantly Furnished Living Area
Part of our famous surfboard fence
The bathroom features vintage panelling
The cowgirl suite from looking toward the entry-way
Here's that amazing Shower
Shower with dice and pool-balls!
The entrance pathway
quack-quack
a flowering king of cups grown from a cutting in less than a year
Hanalei Surfboard House Garden Area
Typical Hanalei taro-fields and mountain view
Late afternoon in Hanalei Bay across the street
Hanalei Sunset every-night!
Flatscreen HDTV
Cowgirl Private Garden
Cowgirl Private Garden with Birdbath
fresh local fruits
More living area details
Locally produced bath products
Soap Dish with pool balls & dice
Hanalei Surfboard House Garden Area
Hanalei Surfboard House Garden Area
Green flash anyone?
Looking out on the private back garden
Corner detail
Your back patio eating area
And a gas BBQ
One of the famous surfboards
More surfboards
Flowering water lilies
Entrance detail
The front gate
Lilies and bowling balls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hanalei, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jimmy C
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome place right by the beach in Hanalei Bay”
Reviewed 7 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Simon is wonderful, and his Hanlei Surfboard House is great. We stayed here for 7 days and thoroughly loved it. The house is close to the beach (less than 5 min walk) and really close to town. There are plenty of delicious restaurants in Hanalei, and Princeville is a close drive away. Simon has a great attention to detail and some really fantastic stories about music and the music industry over the past four decades. He has a great local knowledge and is everything a guest could want in a host. The lovely thing about Hanalei Surfboard house it that the room is clean, there is a washer/dryer, there is a warm outdoor shower in the Love Shack, and little kitchenette too. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2018
thankyou for the review, much appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curiosity...
1 review
“best place to stay in Halanei”
Reviewed 19 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

kick back and dont worry about a thing cause your living in a dream...walk to the beach. everything is covered at the surfboard house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R
Brighton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Eclectic....dinky..original...cool...private...almost on the beach and 100% relaxing!”
Reviewed 16 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Great location in Hanalei ,very close to all the restaurants ,bars and shops.
Simon the owner, most hospital and helpful, especially as we were late in arriving due to flooded roads....the island of Kauai does have the wettest place on earth somewhere inland. We stayed in the CUTE AND COOL Cowgirl suite, Simon lent me Fats Domino cds to play and directions to one of the best beaches on the island, Tunnels Beach 7 kms north.
Would love to go back...and will....probably pick a dryer season.
Thoroughly recommended if you want a very original venue.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place to stay in Hanalei.”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for 5 days and loved every minute. Everything you could need for your stay has been thought of, including boogie boards and beach umbrella! The apartment is quirky and homely, with a small private garden for a BBQ and outside eating. Inside cooking is limited, but just possible.The beach is so close you can pop back if you forget something. Walking into Hanalei and its restaurants and bars, is an easy stroll away
.Highly recommend and we hope to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohiobruce...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation with my son.”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My Son surprised his dad with a trip to Hawaii. Our stay in Poipu was great, but our stay in Hanalei was even better. My Son could not have picked any better when he chose Hanalei Surfboard House to stay the second half of our week.
Simon Potts thought of everything when he equipped his three suites. It felt like we had every amenity to make it feel like home. Starting with equipment for the beach: lawn chairs, umbrella, boogie boards, etcetera. There were chairs to sit in front of your "Cowgirl Suite". Out back was an extremely nice gas grill, small table, chairs and a lanai with a view to the back yard that was full of flowers and birds singing in the trees.
The king sized bed was quite comfortable and next to the bed was a great selection of music that was very eclectic and a Bose sound system to play the c. d.'s. There was a nice sized t. v. that I think we only watched one time. Too many other amusements to keep us busy. The living area was well equipped and so was the kitchen. We did do some of our own cooking, but there were good resturants in town where we also ate.
The proximity to the beach was wonderful and I walked every morning but one, when the sky was leaking. The beach is a short 100 yards away with a lifeguard shack on the beach. The mountains behind the Hanalei Surfboard House are unbelievable pretty.
Simon, personally, is the best host giving us good advise about places to eat, places to snorkle and tips about what was going on in the area. He was very understanding when I called him the day after we left and told him that I had left my extra battery and charger for my camera in our suite. He sent them to me and I really appreciated that.
Would I stay there again? You bet. Thanks, Son, for the trip. Thanks, Simon, for being a great host.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: This stay in Hanalei and at Hanalei Surfboard House was exactly the experience that I was hoping for.
Liked least: I honestly can't think of anything to ding them on.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing