We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would definitely stay at the Love Shack at the...”
A cloudless sky in Hanalei
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cloudless sky in Hanalei
The property from the parking lot
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
A cloudless sky in Hanalei
The property from the parking lot
Comfortable in the suite
A Panorama of Hanalei Surfboard House from Weke Rd
Sleep well,under the painting that inspires the theme
Surfboards at the entrance on the street
The bathroom features vintage panelling and an amazing shower
Looking from the back to the front in the suite
Part of the garden with statues and bowling balls
Grill up a tasty meal on your private BBQ
Elegantly Furnished Living Area
Part of our famous surfboard fence
The bathroom features vintage panelling
The cowgirl suite from looking toward the entry-way
Here's that amazing Shower
Shower with dice and pool-balls!
The entrance pathway
quack-quack
a flowering king of cups grown from a cutting in less than a year
Hanalei Surfboard House Garden Area
Typical Hanalei taro-fields and mountain view
Late afternoon in Hanalei Bay across the street
Hanalei Sunset every-night!
Flatscreen HDTV
Cowgirl Private Garden
Cowgirl Private Garden with Birdbath
fresh local fruits
More living area details
Locally produced bath products
Soap Dish with pool balls & dice
Hanalei Surfboard House Garden Area
Hanalei Surfboard House Garden Area
Green flash anyone?
Looking out on the private back garden
Corner detail
Your back patio eating area
And a gas BBQ
One of the famous surfboards
More surfboards
Flowering water lilies
Entrance detail
The front gate
Lilies and bowling balls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hanalei, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paula G
Christina Lake, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay at the Love Shack at the Hanalei Surfboard House again”
Reviewed 5 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Simon was great to talk to, the house is very well located on Weke Rd just across from the beach access to the surf beach. The outdoor shower was so nice we never even used the indoor shower, and the place has everything you could need or want (ie blender, toaster, salad spinner, hifi, wifi, tv, and a very cool 50's-style music theme to the decorating).
Comfortable bed, and NO ROOSTER NOISE at night, which, if you've stayed in Hanalei before, you'll recognize as a very good thing.
Highly recommend the Hanalei Surfboard House - if we return to Hanalei (without doubt the best part of Kauai, with the most soul - go to the Dolphin and Bar Acuda, and morning coffee at the Hanalei Coffee Roasters), we would adjust our dates around Simon's availability, to stay there again. A great second-honeymoon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, decor, host - everything!
Liked least: I should have stayed longer
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDrone
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everyone is right. Surfboard House is just the berries.”
Reviewed 3 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

I will add my vote to all the others who love this place. We stayed in the Elvis Suite, and it was one of the highlights of our two weeks in Hawaii. Simon is a genial host, the propery is beautiful and maintained extremely well, and has everything you could want -- from the starter bag of coffee from Hanalei Roasters to towels, chairs and a cooler to take to the beach. Ideally located on Weke Road, a block from Hanalei Bay! Within walking distance of everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, attention to detail, and Simon
Liked least: It rained one whole day. But, don't think that was the Surfboard House's fault
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 10 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
phojoe
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Remote seclusion with all of the comforts!”
Reviewed 26 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Surfboard house for a little R&R, we found the place to be very comfortable. Simon (the owner) has paid attention to tiny details that most places over look. Most supplies for a day at the beach (towels, grass mats, umbrella and cooler) are just outside your door. The garden is unique in its on right with many flowers and tropical plants. Oh yeah then there are the surfboards...This place is great and we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor
Liked least: Baby crying in the property next door.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smileyhor...
Heath
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Hideaway in lovely Hanalei, Kauai”
Reviewed 13 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Great location in Hanalei, the center of activity on the north shore of Kauai. Our expectations were exceeded with regards to cleanliness of the room and property, the extras provided like beach equipment, towels, outdoor shower, grill, and much more. We prefer the quiet places with character when we travel and if you prefer the same and want to be on the most beautiful north side of Kauai, then this is a perfect choice. Simon and his staff will take great care of you and treat you like friends from the moment you arrive. The location of Hanalei is truly in the middle of everything offered on the north shore of Kauai. We stayed in the Love Shack and found it perfect for our needs. A nice plus is the Love Shack has a great sound system with an IPOD deck and provided music CDs from Simon's collection so you can jam out at "home". Hanalei Surfboard House is in an ideal location for those wanting to explore the north shore of Kauai, the hands down most beautiful part of Kauai. Waimei Canyon is the only location that even comes close in beauty when looking at the south side of Kauai. However, most excursion activities, especially boat activities, leave from or occur on the southern portion of Kauai, from Kapaa and further south to Poipu and Port Allen. Although Hanalei does offer a few boat options, you need to make reservations well in advance as space is limited. If your plan is to have lots of boat excursions and even most land excursions, you will be limited staying on the north shore without a bit of a drive to the south side of Kauai. We did not want to drive too much so we chose to keep our excursions to a minimum and enjoy all the wonderful beaches, hiking, and beauty that the northshore does BEST. Your room at the Surfboard House is a very short stroll to Hanalei Bay Beach, just one of the great beaches on the northshore. You will be a very short drive to many other wonderful beaches, all with their own character and all great in different ways. Hiking the Napali coast is also a short drive away. Have a great trip to Kauai. The north shore is really the best and I can't wait to return someday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing