We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful garden cottage and its perfect for our...”
Another angle of the Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Another angle of the Cottage
Landscaped for privacy Idyll location
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Another angle of the Cottage
Landscaped for privacy
Idyll location
View from the coconuts.
Dining/kitchen table
Looking from kitchen/dining room to bedroom
Plenty of lawn surrounds the Cottage
Nearby beach access...two blocks away.
Looking east from the Lanai
Looking south on the Lanai
View of the East side
Front door entrance
Stylish pedestal sink to compliment the stand in shower.
Quaint decor.
Open air.
Spanish pavers.
Windows everywhere.
Bathroom angle.
Alpine slate shower.
Towel hanger
Spanish pavers.
Bedroom view.
Another window.
Turtle shell...my totem/amakua
Armadillo basket and horse skull
Knick knacks.
Well appointed kitchen,
Pineapple pot holder.
Pots and pans.
Photo of Micco taking a winter dip in Alaska.
Dining room looking into the bedroom.
Dining room cabinet
Kitchen/Dining room area.
Another angle of Kitchen/Dining room area.
Kitchen sink area.
Ceiling fan in Kitchen/Dining room.
Another window over looking sink.
Window over dining room table.
Linens provided.
This view is by the nearby beach access.
The nearby beach access.
Outside view looking East.
This Cottage is in the list of historic buildings.
West view of Cottage.
Spacious lanai.
Old broken surfboards, veterans of many 'board meetings'.
A door knocker ....you will never use.
Cow bell.
Marine debris.
Artifact found on the property.
Outside clothes line.
Mask to keep the evil spirits away.
Art
Bedroom view looking to kitchen/dining room area.
A artsy angle.
Custom cabinets/
Deer horn and Tibetan prayer flag.
View looking to bathroom from the bedroom.
Small library, some with Kaua'i themes.
Inner door of bathroom.
Another door angle.
Custom Alpine slate shower.
Outside door leading to bathroom.
Linen shelf.
Another view of linen shelf.
Desk to wonk it out on your computer.
Cabinets and desk in bedroom.
Bedroom angle...again.
Dining room/kitchen area with person with 'elbows on the table'.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hanalei, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jason H
1 review
“beautiful garden cottage and its perfect for our honeymoon <3”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Kauai has been an amazing adventure. North Shore has my heart for sure.
Every morning I work up in garden cottage with full of peace and excitement.
Listening to the rain(not everyday thou) and birds singing has cleaned my soul from been living in big cities.
I love this lovely garden cottage! It provides me and my wife everything we we need (brand new coffee maker, oven, stoves, warm shower, comfy bed and classic decorations in and out.)
It is in a very convenient location. walking distance to markets, coffee shop, restaurants and more. Only 5 minutes driving to Hanalei Bay!
The garden cottage has a big yard around itself. You can easily spot coconut trees and papaya trees :D
I cannot help myself taking photos all over the place. Even at night, I take cool long exposure photos of the moon & stars at the garden :)
Highly recommend this garden cottage!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arjeta170...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“surfers honeymoon <3”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

we had an amazing 7 nites in this Cottage ...it was our honeymoon...so short but so good....perfect location for us , walking distance to the surf/beach and the town ...the place had every thing we need it ...we got to surf in the morning and come home rest and then go hiking ...waking up the the sound of the rain or to the birds singing was amazing...the weather was so perfect we didnt use the fan much , i loved laying in the grass at nite and watching the stars , so quite was able to meditate every morning ...our trip was short and we cant wait to come back again !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the property and price :)
Liked least: that we had week went so fast
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelbug...
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Sweet hideaway cottage for 2 near town and the beach”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a 5 days in the Garden Cottage, a block from the beach and a short walk to the center of town. It has defiinitely been lived in but is kept clean. It's just the right size for 2, simply furnished and clean. It's secluded, and sheltered so it does get a bit dark. The kitchen is basic with 2 gas burners rather than a stove, frig, a toaster oven and no microwave, no dishwasher ( not really necessary ). Plenty of flat ware, misc. containers, random plates and bowls and a cooler. The bath is in the back, with a tiled shower only toilet & a sink. Plenty of clean towels, though the hot water takes a long time to generate. A hammock on the shaded lanai never got used. We found boogie boards, beach chairs at the front house. Internet worked great, which was important. In a very spendy locale, this was economical and suited our needs perfectly, since we spent most of our time out doors on the beach or hiking. The owner communicated very promptly and patiently to all our inquiries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location-
Liked least: Kitchen and bath could have been more comfortable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Thanks for your kind review. The Cottage is in the register of historic buildings, so it has a history of sheltering a few generations. Have toyed putting a microwave but it "trips" the breakers.

Instead of a hot water tank, the hot water is "on demand", so it take a minute or so for hot water to start flowing. Thanks again for sharing. Micco
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C
Roseland, New Jersey
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a great honeymoon. Exactly what we wanted; simplicity with all the needed ammenities; two-minute walk to the beach. Right in the middle of it all; mountains for hiking, center of town with great restaurants and bar. More importantly Micco (property owner) made the process smooth and had great excursion recommendations. Not to mention he owns/operates Kayak Kauai, the island's number one go-to for water/land excursions. Can't wait to get back !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elise G
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Beautiful, simple, relaxing honeymoon!”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Micco's cottage! We loved watching the birds from the lanai, and listening to the rain which always stopped miraculously by the time we were ready to head to the beach. :) We also loved the close walk to Hanalei bay. We stayed for 2 weeks and our first week we used for hiking/Kalalau and exploring - this is a wonderful place for a home base if you're exploring the island! Our second week we took advantage of how close our cottage was to the ocean and surfed/swam the beautiful bay every day.

The cottage is simple but has all the amenities you need - we cooked many nights in the kitchenette. We had a few visitors (ants) but Micco dealt with it so quickly, there was someone by to begin dealing with the issue within 24 hours, and they were gone soon after. One can expect a visitor or two in a tropical climate! :)

I would very much recommend staying here. It was a perfect place for a relaxing, simple honeymoon, or a jump off point for surfing and adventure. Thanks for the great stay!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location, close walk to beach!
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing