We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing location, secluded!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Honeymoon Cottage

Walk through the Hibiscus hedge... your home away from home is waiting.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Walk through the Hibiscus hedge... your home away from home is waiting.
Take the stepping stone path to the front door. The door is open... Come on in.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Walk through the Hibiscus hedge... your home away from home is waiting.
Take the stepping stone path to the front door.
The door is open... Come on in.
Walk down the hall to the sunken Living room... Note couch/day bed, TV & small frig
Living room view to backyard
Close up of backyard view and peek at the ocean over the fence.
Turn to your right to see the breakfast nook and view of your private path to the beach.
Kitchen with full size frig, coffee maker, toaster, microwave & toaster ovens.
Walk thru the kitchen and turn left into bedroom.
Office nook with a view
Once in the bedroom, turn right into the dressing nook with dresser and mirror.
Walk through the dressing nook to find a walk-in shower for two with view of the garden.
Vanity and mirror... note stacked washer & dryer.
Walk back through Kitchen, step down into Living Rm, go out sliding door... See ocean over fence.
On your way to the beach, look back to see lanai.
Your private path to the beach.
Foliage opens up to the beach. Chairs/bench available for your use... Return to save from high tide.
Beach view left...
Beach view right...
Google Earth view... note the waves breaking on the reef, allowing calmer waters in swimming lagoon.
This is the parking pad outside the Hibiscus hedge, off Aliomanu Road.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Anahola, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Cottage stay”
Reviewed 7 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Nice small little cottage near the beach. Located centrally on the island. Easy access to the house down a little road from the main road. Had all the accommodations needed for a beautiful visit in Kauai. Some of the negatives, had a cockroach in the bed, not many just found one in the bed. But more in the house. Has a little bug problem. When we got in we found a dead gecko near the TV. Don't mind geckos since they kill other bugs, but this had to of been there for while. Think housecleaning would have saw that one. There's shower curtains for curtains on most of the windows of the house. Just made it look cheap. Had construction next door all day everyday. Can get loud and clog the street with work trucks. We didn't spend much time in the cottage but there were a couple rain days where anything you did was wet. Found other things to do on the island. Never personally met the owners or saw them but they were very good on their instructions on how to get in per email. I've stayed at many places in Kauai over the years. I would say it's average to slightly above because of location.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
Though we have a contract with Terminix, those bugs are really hard to get rid of. So sorry about finding the one in the bed. I know it was made the day of your arrival, so the bug must have crawled in soon after.

I'm always asking the guests to move anything which may attract bugs out of the cottage to minimize this problem, but warm humid weather is too hospitable to them. It is a constant battle.

Sorry we missed you. I don't like to mention that Dave has cancer and has been in and out of the hospital. We want you to have a wonderful vacation and not think about us. Our daughter is doing her best to replace us, but she has work on the mainland and isn't always around.

The construction is problematic. Most days they are not that noisy and they try to confine it to the 8:30-5:30 hours, when most guests are out exploring the island. It won't last forever...eventually they will be done and there will be a beautiful home next door to admire.

The curtains are shower curtains because they resist mold better than plain cloth, which can absorb the humidity. I know it is a weird solution to our tropical climate, but one we settled on after facing the mold problem many times.

I'm glad you were still able to enjoy Kauai, even with the problems. We wish you a safe year ahead and hope you consider Kauai again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross J
1 review
“Amazing location, secluded!”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Great access to the beach and water, easy check-in and check-out and the hosts were super responsive.

Easily the most fun on a vacation I've ever had!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
I am training our daughter to take over the business. I'll share your comments with her. We are so glad you had a great time. Love hearing that our guests enjoyed themselves.

Take care and we hope to see you again, :D&D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful time at the Cottage.”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

What a great place and location to spend our 49th anniversary.
First let me say that we have been going to Kauai since 1972. This is our island of choice, time and again. The area of the Cottage is also our favorite part of the island.
With that said, we would always love to stay at David and Deana's place in the future. It is very quiet (sans the roosters) but nature dealt this island quite a blow in the 90's so we adapt to that. The setting at the Cottage is exactly what we appreciate. Peace and tranquility.
Everything was very clean. Inside and out. The folks that help upkeep the grounds were friendly, gracious and thoughtful towards our needs and that of the owners.
All of the amenities were great and we really lacked nothing .
Unfortunately, we didn't meet Dave but Deana was a very gracious host and gave us plenty of space.
The area is gorgeous and the beach in front could not be more secluded and private.
We look forward to our next trip and meeting Dave and reacquainting with Deana.
One last thing. We did accomplish that item on the end of our bucket list.
Helicopter the island. Truly a "must do" adventure.
Thanks again to Deana and Dave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We work hard in hopes each of our guests has a wonderful time. Take care and we look forward to your future visits.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 May 2017
We appreciate the suggestions already given, however, if you could be specific about needed improvements, it would be helpful for our next guests. Also, I have to apologize that our handy man informed me NOW that he wasn't able to finish the inside painting before you arrived so I am aware, now, that the repainting was not done to standard expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DebMWill
Coupeville, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Cottage...Surpassed All Expectations”
Reviewed 26 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely loved our stay at the Honeymoon Cottage in Anahola from 2/2/17-2/13/17. The cottage was clean, beautifully appointed and very well set up. My husband and I agreed we would be very happy to live in such a lovely place. Access to the quiet, private beach was easy. The water was usually quite calm as there is an off shore reef that protects that the area allowing for great snorkeling and swimming. Deanna and Dave were lovely hosts, providing us with all the support and help we needed and wanted. We would happily stay at the cottage again if we are fortunate enough to return to the Garden Isle.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We try so hard to make each guest feel cared for and appreciated, without being intrusive. I hope we did that for you two. We rank Kauai our favorite island so we are glad you feel the same. Come back to see us again, :D&D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;