We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Huge, beautiful home with all the amenities in a...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Huge Lanai
Quiet room
Upstairs King Bedroom
Upstairs Master Bedroom.
Downstaris Double Queen Bedroom
Downstaris master  bedroom 1 King and 1 Qeen bed
Downstairs Rereation Room
Service Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cody E
West Jordan, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Huge, beautiful home with all the amenities in a central location”
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We were travelling with two families of four and we were shocked to see the outstanding price on this spacious property even before we got to Hawaii. It seemed like a too good to be true price, but it turned out that it was a steal of a deal on this beautiful home!

On arrival, we were impressed with the beautiful community of Waikaloa Village. This is a well maintained area with great views and pretty houses. As we pulled into the Diamond on the Green we found plenty of parking. As we stepped inside, we were amazed to see that the pictures of the house were not only accurate, they did not show the true size and beauty of the house. We were travelling with two adult couples with four children between 11-20 years old. It was important for everyone to have their own space and this house provided that and more. We each had a big, beautiful room and there were never any issues with bathroom sharing, even with 5 females in the house getting ready each morning.

We went to Costco in Kona, which was about a 20 minute drive, but soon found that the local Waikaloa market, which was 2 minutes away, had everything we needed at decent prices. It's a little more expensive than the mainland, but we found that buying groceries and cooking in the huge, fully stocked kitchen was much more cost effective than eating out every day. We used so many of the kitchen items, including a waffle maker, pots, pans, serving dishes, and every kind of utensil you would need. We also used the grill on two nights, which made for a fantastic meal if you have a great grill master.

We used the guest passes to spend a couple of days at the pool, which was a very good size and heated well, and only two minutes from the house. Unfortunately, we did not have a day to golf, but the course looked beautiful and the tee box and green behind the house gave us some spectacular views of the sunrise and some wildlife that stopped by in the early mornings. The other wildlife we saw shared the house with us. The few geckos that roam the ceiling and walls were fun house guests and we looked forward to seeing them once we realized they had no desire to get anywhere near us or our beds. :)

The location of Waikaloa Village is such that you would need a car to do anything on the island, but we found that most places on the big island are spread out and a car would be needed no matter where you stayed. Hapuna was a spacious beach with lots of sand and ocean, and was about a 15 minute drive from the property. Both Kona and Hilo are a manageable drive (30ish minutes) away, and we made the treks a couple of times to do activities in the city. The parasailing was particularly cool. We also took a day to drive down to the volcano and black and green sand beaches on the south side of the island. It does take a couple of hours to get there, but the drive is beautiful through trees and small towns, and it didn't get tiring even for my 11 and 12 year old.

Overall, the Diamond on the Green more than lives up to its name. This is truly a great place to stay if you have a large group and don't mind driving through the beautiful Big Island scenery. We had a fantastic time staying at the house and travelling the island. This was a good mix for relaxation, comfort, and adventure. I would highly recommend staying at the Diamond on the Green and look forward to making another trip in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open layout and space for everyone.
Liked least: Most activities were a drive away, but very manageable if you plan well.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2016
Aloha,
I am so happy that you enjoyed the house and was spacious for your family. It really is perfect for groups who like to visit with each other but also have the need for their own space.
We would love to have you back.
mahalo,
Monique Burnett
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlaskaTra...
Soldotna, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place for the Family”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed at Diamond on the Green for 4 days and it was a great place to base for trips over the Saddle Road, to the volcanoes and to the beach. The grocery store is a short distance and there are good places to eat in the shopping center. The house accommodated all 11 of us perfectly. The extra fridges and washer/dryers were a godsend. The grandchildren loved the foosball table and found a soccer field not too far away. A great place to stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Space for everyone”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled as an extended family to Hawaii in April 2015 and stayed at Diamond on the Green whilst we were on the Big Island. Booking and communication were easy. Although the owner will not accept direct deposit for payment so there is a little more effort in obtaining international drafts from the bank and mailing etc.

The house is as described in the advertisement which is great. It has everything that you may need and the layout is fantastic and allows larger groups some personal space as well. The fully functioning kitchen certainly allows for a welcome change from the constant eating out at restaurants that occurs when travelling and being able to sit down to meals out on the deck was lovely.

The local shops including a supermarket are within walking distance and the area is nice and quite. It is a bit of a drive from Kona and the airport but was in a great position to allow for driving to Hilo and around the top of the island.

There is so much to do on Kona that I would recommend a rental car and with a car the location isn't of concern.

Diamond on the Green combines the peace of a trip away with the comforts of home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7tstravel...
Irrigon, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Diamond on the Green was a real gem!”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This house was absolutely perfect for a big crowd. The whole group loved it. Everything we could possible need was there plus more. The location is great. It is near the beaches and close to Saddle Road if you want to drive to Hilo. The Waikoloa Market is near enough to get your morning exercise. We were so busy at the beaches we did not have time to use the guest passes for the pool or golfing. It is definitely on our return list!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim
Anaheim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice accomodations”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had 10 adults and 2 children under the age of 5 who stayed. The facility was very accomodating, clean and well maintained. The extra refrigerator and double washer dryer set up was very convenient. Only issue was we would have really enjoyed air conditioning, but understand that electricity is not inexpensive on the island.

Before you buy your groceries. Go to the house first and see what is already there that was left by previous tenants. Those items were unopened and not expired.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and number of bedrooms. Also, great location to a lot of different venues.
Liked least: No airconditioning
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing