We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.comUS$746
TripadvisorUS$746
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
62
44
12
1
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
62
44
12
1
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vacation club washer and dryer kayaks and paddle boards the big island fire pit other islands nice property kids club pool deck shopping and restaurants lava lava beach club mai tais volcano national park other resorts minute drive self parking resort fee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2021 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here this past week and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The staff were all wonderful and I never felt like they wanted to keep us trapped at the property like so many other resorts do. They were quick to offer dinner suggestions, as well as cool local spots to check out. The staff at all of the desks were friendly, and genuinely so. Food and drink were expensive, but only marginally more than surrounding bars and restaurants. We only ate a single meal there, and it was not great but they were the tacos that were on special. Mai tais were phenomenal and pours were heavy; we got what we paid for! Heated pools and multiple hot tubs were a definite plus. Walkability of the area is fantastic, with multiple cultural highlights on property or very close by. We walked the King’s Trail and enjoyed the ancient fish pond complete with eels. Only real complaint was the quality of the coffee in room; we are in Kona after all and was hoping for some good coffee. I will say, the coffee shop on property is cheaper than Starbucks with a superior product. I would absolutely stay here again!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MileageMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Vacation Club, Other at Marriott’s Waikoloa Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2021

Hi Mark, thank you for your review of Marriott's Waikoloa Ocean Club. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us! We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the onsite amenities and got to take in our local area and explore the culture. We cannot wait to welcome you back for another quiet and luxurious stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2021

Spent four nights here in March and I wish we'd stayed a week! Rooms are enormous! Fully stocked kitchenettes for everything you might need while away. Plenty of space to relax and spread out. Property is clean and well maintained. Pool and beach area are nice, make sure to get chairs early though as the pool deck was quick to fill up. Self parking is a close walk to the entrance

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moose938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Vacation Club, Other at Marriott’s Waikoloa Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2021

Hi Moose, thank you for your review of Marriott's Waikoloa Ocean Club. We are happy that our accommodations and amenities met your vacation needs. We cannot wait to welcome you back for another stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2021

This was our first time using our Marriott vacation club points. This is a nice property with a nice location. Was it FABULOUS, not really but it was clean and in a nice location for sure, walk able to the beach, easy shopping and restaurants and the Lava Lava Beach club! Queenie was the best at checking us in. We were bummed to not get in before 4pm after a long flight. The room was clean. Would have been nice to have had a cooktop in the unit but we appreciated the fridge, microwave and washer and dryer for sure. We felt very safe here during COVID. Only place without masks was eating or at the pool. Decks are tiny but there are chairs on them for enjoying the sunset. We really appreciated all the assistance in booking activities by the concierge staff. We would stay here again. Oh and free parking meant we rented a car for the entire week.

Room tip: make sure you get an ocean view room.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mokimomma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Vacation Club, Other at Marriott’s Waikoloa Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2021

Hi, thank you for your review of Marriott's Waikoloa Ocean Club. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to take in the local area. We are delighted that you felt safe while visiting and using the onsite amenities. We cannot wait to welcome you back for another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020

We traveled to the big Island of hawaii and stayed here for 6 days. The hotel itself is clean and wonderful. Well located and comfortable, the pool area is great. The only thing is that the beach is across the little pond and there are no chairs on the beach. We had to rent cabanas by the local company on the beach and they just have a few and its expensive to do so for a family of 2. We also did a pass from this local company for rentals of equipment like kayaks and paddle boards and they close at 4 and if its high tide they don't allow you to go out, so not the best utilization.. The service at the poolside restaurant was extremely slow and the food average..

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Anya778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Vacation Club, Other at Marriott’s Waikoloa Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2020

Hi! Thank you for your review of Marriott's Waikoloa Ocean Club. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2020 via mobile

We had the pleasure to spend a few night here and ...wow!!
Beautiful! Right in the beach on the sunny (less windy side of the island ) centrally located to do a lot! Tour the volcano, whale watching trip or just relax on the beautiful beach ! Beautiful pool area too !! Yummy tropical drinks too !

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank ValerieM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Advocacy Manager at Marriott’s Waikoloa Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2020

Hi Valerie, we are delighted to hear that our location was perfect for you. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews