We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The MOST amazing rental ever!”
other travellers have booked this property
Livingroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Livingroom
Front exterior Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Livingroom
Front exterior
Kitchen
Bathroom vanity
large waik in shower and soaking tub
hot tub on porch
driveway
start of our gardens
front porch
washer and dryer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CrackerJa...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The MOST amazing rental ever!”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This place is PERFECT!! Cozy, romantic, and perfectly appointed!! We LOVED it!! Such a GREAT place!!! We WILL be back!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect Oasis”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about the Teahouse was absolutely perfect. My husband and I only visited for 2 days during our honeymoon at the end of November. I wish we had stayed longer and I hope to be able to return soon. I loved everything about the Teahouse from the décor, ambiance, surrounding gardens, super comfy bed, HUGE shower ROOM, hot tub, fireplace, and washer/ dryer was an added bonus. If you are considering staying at the Teahouse - BOOK NOW - it is even more beautiful in person.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything far exceeded my expectations.
Liked least: I loved everything about the Teahouse.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen g
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Serene, Private. A Very Special Place”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were completely comfortable in the Teahouse. The symphony of birds was our charming wake up call every morning. Everything about the Teahouse is clean, new, and works perfectly. The wood stove provided a cozy fire to take the chill off the evening and we loved using the hot tub; we just turned off the disco lights to maintain the tranquil atmosphere. My tip is to avoid the strong temptation to cocoon in the teahouse and get out to see Hilo and the volcano. We go back there tomorrow if we could!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reece C
Hawthorn, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My Boyfriend & recently travelled from Australia to Hawaii for a holiday and the Tsugi Teahouse was our first stop. It was everything we could have asked for after a long time travelling. Nice relaxing vibe with the most comfortable bed I have ever stepped on and all within 10 minute drive of the Volcano National Park.
I would highly recommend this rental to anyone travelling to the Big Island.
Only slight downer I could pick was there was no oil in the kitchen which we thought there would be and also that the WIFI could only connect and work properly to 1 device at a time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wifi.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aly D
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place was what you picture as paradise!

Location: About 30 minutes from Hilo. Secluded in the tropical forest of Volcano, HI. The house is completely surrounded by forest and a gate in a non-gated private community. 5 minutes to Volcano National Park. There is a True Value general store and another general store that we didn't check out where you can get the essentials.

Decor: Modern and upscale furnishings but cozy with a very tasteful Japanese theme. It SMELLS brand new. The kitchen is well stocked with stainless steel appliances and enough dishes for a couple to cook what they want. There are tons of tea kettles, sets, and tea. There is a variety of spices available. The place is illuminated with windows in every room but is still private since it's surrounded by forest. We didn't even get to use the bath tub but it looks comfy. The shower was really nice; it's open to the bath tub area which I really like. There are even bottles of shampoo and conditioner available. The shower/tub area has beautiful stone tiles all over. The stone sink basin is beautiful. The washer and dryer were handy to have. The bed is incredibly comfortable and well padded.

Activities: We used the two person hot tub a lot! Wifi is available, though a little slow (you're in the middle of nowhere so it's expected). TV is available too. We went to the town farmer's market on Sunday and got fruit, vegetables, meat, bread, and jams to make food from, as well got some Tuk Tuk Thai from the food truck there which was DELICIOUS! Obviously Volcano National Park is the main attraction when staying in Volcano so we went there a LOT! Hilo is also only about 30 minutes away so we went there for some activities without a problem.

Price: Amazing value! Can't believe it's so inexpensive actually! No crazy cleaning fees or hidden costs either.

Bottom Line: I've stayed a lot of places and this borders on perfection if you're looking for somewhere secluded, modern, comfortable, moderately priced, and close to Volcano!

Added Bonus: The owners are very friendly and not overbearing/have a lot of rules like some owners. It actually made me want to take care of the place even more! Thanks Brenda & Tommy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor
Liked least: Slower internet (but understandable for a rural location)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$150
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing