We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most remarkable property we have ever experienced”
other travellers have booked this property
treehouse in forest of hapu'u and ohia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
treehouse in forest of hapu'u and ohia
moongate entrance cedar hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
treehouse in forest of hapu'u and ohia
moongate entrance
cedar hot tub
treehouse from lava boulders below
ascent to treehouse
front door
lanai
dining al fresco
inside - jotul heating stove, ships ladder to trapdoor
indoor table top in window
kitchen
cooktop & sink
sidelight at front door
living room
looking out through speakeasy window
cedar hot tub
bedroom
treehouse in forest
outdoor shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
MariaH356
Columbia, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definitely unique”
Reviewed 3 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

This is just not for everyone and it just wasn't for us. Its as close to camping as I will probably ever get these days. The area is very dark at night so bring large flashlights. The walk up to house was difficult in the pouring rain at night. More than once I got turned around and could not see the path and started to get lost (thank goodness for my husband!) Its also very COLD and rainy in Volcano, HI so pack for 40 degree weather. Huge mosquitoes in the house! I felt very cramped with no place to layout except for the uncomfortable bed. I realize that for some people they will love this kind of place with all of its challenges but for me it was not the way I envisioned the start of my honeymoon. The housekeepers and owner seemed very helpful and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Volcano Village and being so close to HVP
Liked least: very cold inside the tree house, walking in the dark and climbing up the ladder
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2013
Aloha ~ We do realize the treehouse is not for everyone, and it is sad your experience was so far from what you would have wished. Huge mosquitoes are certainly not the norm - few survive, expecially when the temperatures drop. Any mosquitos that do survive the journey up (usually traveling in cars from Hilo) lose their urge to bite. 40 degree weather is also extremely cold. In all my time personally at volcano, I have never experienced temps below 50. We do strongly suggest arrival in daylight hours. We do not light the forest, but provide headlamps. Once you have experienced the path in daylight, it is not so daunting. We hope the rest of your experience of Hawaii was more to your taste. Aloha!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camano10
Lake Stevens
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most remarkable property we have ever experienced”
Reviewed 17 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Caren and I were looking for a place to anchor a 2-3 day stay near the volcanos with Kona as our base for our vacation (recommend this strategy highly)
First let me say that the photos do not do this place justice. Not even close.
The treehouse is the very defiinition of cozy. The location is thick rainforest with birds singing constantly. It must of dropped 2 inches of rain during the night but as is usual, the morning brought clean, fresh air and blue skies. Hearing the rain on the roof just made the crazy comfortable bed even more inviting.
Taking a shower outside at 4000 feet of elevation sounds uncomfortable but this will be the most memorable shower you have ever had with it's plenty of hot water and space.
Soft towels are provided and super high end robes.
The outside deck(s) with a cedar hottub was amazing.
Everything you could need is provided for cooking and the Jotul gas stove was perfect.
There has been mention of how comfortable the bed in the loft bedroom is in other reviews and I swear it is an act of will to get out of it.
We will stay there again sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fun loft bedroom
Liked least: the size of the kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2012
Aloha, and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

We agree that the best way to visit this island and experience its broad array of delights is to split time between east side and west side locales. If you plan a longish stay, a night or two in the Kehena/Kalapana/Kapoho area is a good addition, as well as a Kohala coast or Kona coast stay.

Hope you do come back! Aloha!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milla1981
Notodden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 21 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the treehouse, this is such an amazing and magical place! So romantic, and we loved the hot tub.

Mahalo for having us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2012
Mahalo for staying with us! Hope you can return! Thanks for taking time to write a review. Aloha!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cherubCar...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“exceeded every expectation”
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Very well organised with instructions via email on arrival and directions. Backpacks ready to go in a little tent area where you parked. Lovely few minutes walking through the foliage with tikis marking the way. Ladder to climb up was fine, such excitement just being there. Lovely balcony and then inside to a gorgeous little lounge with chairs, cd player, kitchen and toilet. Compost toilet was not a prob at all, no smell!! The outdoor shower was amazing, felt so free being out there, was even great at 3:00 in the morning.
The ladder up the the bedroom was a little steep but go slow and you'll be fine. When your head pops through the door, you just see a beautiful, welcoming and soft bed. Then once up, there are double doors to another balcony that literally make you feel like you are on top of the world! Being in bed with the doors open and little drops of condensation dripping on the roof was completely magical and very very romantic and special.
5-10 minute drive to Volcano National Park which was fantastic and a 20 minute drive to Hilo with great restaurants etc. Get food at the supermarket 10-15 mins or so away and you;re set! No bugs or creepy things to speak of.
The only negative about this place is that we didnt sta longer. Would have loved a day or 2 to just stay in and listen to music and read and relax away from the world.
Fantastic. Owner Gail is so easy to deal with. Please stay if you have the chance - love, love, love, love, love..........
CR

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the special feeling of the location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2012
Aloha! You put a big smile on my face. Would love it if you could come stay again, stay long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wweirichm
Reno
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tree house in paradise.........”
Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in December 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Ever want to feel like Tarzan and Jane living in their Jungle Treehouse. Well, this comes mighty close. From having to climb up a ladder style staircase to showering on the back deck with essentially only trees for vanity, to a great second story bed room . This palce is magical and great for couple looking for someplace different and romantic to stay. Did I mention the hot tub built into the outside deck, and the terry cloth robes provided? Actually in a semi residential neighborhood, but you'd never know it hidden in the trees. It's small - so need to like the person you're travleing with. And some degree of agility in getting up and down is helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2012
Aloha, Thank you for reviewing the treehouse. The location is about a mile from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, in a heavily forested neighborhood. The lots are large, and many are kept deliberately natural to preserve the sense of the rainforest. Having restaurants less than a mile away is nice for those who prefer not to have to prepare meals when on vacation. It is intended as a honeymoon venue, and is weighted toward the romance. We have had couples in the 70's stay and love it too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing