We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Serene, comfortable rain forest home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
77 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ayatsu
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serene, comfortable rain forest home”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My entire group-husband, his mother, and four teenagers- loved this house! Upon arrival, the house was welcoming, clean, and well stocked with essentials. My boys loved the loft and everyone else was happy with their room. We stayed for five nights and enjoyed returning to Ohana House after exploring Volcanoes National Park, touring the Hilo waterfalls and snorkeling at the Hilo beach parks. The owner, Becky, was accommodating with questions and provided detailed directions, instructions, and grocery shopping tips. A binder at the house is also a great resource. We hope to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2017
I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay! Please come back some day and we'll give you our preferred guest discount. Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thanks for the great review. I'm so glad your family had a wonderful Big Island holiday, and that the Ohana House was a good fit. Hope you'll return someday. Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco Bay Area
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Nov 2016
Thanks for the suggestions, Maria! I'm glad you had a nice stay. Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fay K
Bendigo, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Space and atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of six stayed here for four days and were pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere created by the design and decor of the house. It was such a fun house to stay in. The beds were really comfortable and the bedrooms were large. It was fun being a family again sitting around the large table at breakfast and sorting out what we were doing for the day. There is so much to do and see in Volcano.The washing and drying facilities were much appreciated after a soaking walk to the crater in the rain.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming atmosphere and the kitchen had everything you could need.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Glad you had a good trip and that the house was right for you! Hope to welcome you back one day. Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby159
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great short term rental”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Spacious and comfortable house near the volcano. Situated in the rain forest, with big ferns everywhere, one half expected a velociraptor to appear.

We wanted a place where we could get an early start visiting the volcano and also see the glow of the lava at night. Totally met our needs.

3 bedrooms plus a loft sleeps 8. Off the beaten path, but internet and TV were as good as home. We didn't do any cooking, but the kitchen seemed well equipped.

We ate breakfast in, but went to local restaurants for lunch and dinner.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing