We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of House
Back of House Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Front of House
Back of House
Living Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Master Bedroom, Queen
Second Bedroom, Queen
Third Bedroom, Twins
PIneapple and Side Yard
Side Yard
Flowers in the Yard
Kahakai Coastline Park
Kahakai Coastline Park
Lava Cone and Rainbow, Volcano National Park
Night Watching of Lava Flowing into Ocean
Old Town Pahoa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable home away from home”
Reviewed 6 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

3-bdrm, 2 bath house in Pahoa about 20 miles from Hilo. Felt like home with full kitchen (everything needed), comfortable beds and living room furniture, clean modern bathrooms, TV, DVD's, books, washer/dryer, beach towels, etc. Grocery store a few miles away. Near the Hawaii Volcanos National Park and the Kilauea Crater , the Tsunami Museum, Akaka and Rainbow falls and the Boiling Pots, Lava Tree Monument, the Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Farm and an excellent multi-cultural Farmer's Market. We really liked the food at What's Shakin, North of Hilo on the scenic drive (Old Belt Road). Ken's Pancake House, near the airport was good too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2018
Always glad to hear our guests enjoyed themselves, and by your list of activities you seem to have done a good job. Thank you for the kind words about the house, it's very much appreciated. We treat it as if we were going to be staying there ourselves, on a care free vacation in Hawai'i.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheri C
2 reviews
“Perfect place”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Cozy, quiet and perfect size house for 6 adults. A very homey feel. The owners were very easy to contact if any questions arose before we arrived.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemontree...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cozy house in the rainforest”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I really enjoyed my stay here. It was great for my family including two toddler to have the extra space. Se spent a bit of time just exploring the neighborhood and enjoying trees and lush green foliage. The house is little ways out from Hilo but Pahoa is a cute little village with a reasonable amenities. Go to Hilo for major grocery shopping though. Donald is super responsive which I appreciated.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cozy house”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Great property! Great value! Very clean! The house is located in a nice town outside of Hilo. Breautiful yard with a coconut tree out in front. The property is equipped with just about everything from beach towels to kitchen wear and everything in between. Not having AC was a bit of a concern at first, but it was not need with the fans in the home. We enjoyed our stay and will stay again the next time we travel to the Big Island. Mahalo!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark J
Kapolei, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A quiet getaway”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Don's house with my wife and three children over a long weekend. We've lived on Oahu for the past six years and had never been to the Big Island before. Don's house is located about 30-40 minutes south of Hilo and is convenient to Pahoa town. When we visited, there was a lava flow threatening Pahoa town and a few local businesses had closed to evacuate. Most of the local businesses were still open, though, and the historic town was pretty and had quite a few good restaurants, bars and stores.

Don's house is about 4 miles from Pahoa town and was not threatened by the slow moving lava flow at the time. It was moving at about 100 yards per day. I would definitely check the status of the flow before you rent in the future to ensure that none of the main roads in the area are cut off.

The house itself was perfect for our family. There are two queen size beds and two twin size beds in three bedrooms. When we first arrived, the house had not been cleaned from the previous renters and we had to tidy things up and change the linens ourselves for the first night. We called Don and he resolved the issue very quickly and the cleaning lady came out the next day and cleaned the house top to bottom while we were out exploring the volcano. The neighborhood is quiet except for the coqui frogs at night.

The location is very convenient to the volcano and the Kapoho tide pools where there is very pretty snorkeling. What you don't get on that side of the island are beaches. Most of the coastline is rocky and it's a long drive to the beaches on the south and west shores of the island.

Overall it was a good stay despite the bumpy start and I'd recommend the place to anyone looking to explore that side of the Big Island.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing