We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding place to rent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ecko's Ohia Hale

Mme. Pele, as seen from the ocean 9/11/16, Kalapana Cultural Tours. the ONLY way to go, COME SEE!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mme. Pele, as seen from the ocean 9/11/16, Kalapana Cultural Tours. the ONLY way to go, COME SEE!
Queen memory foam bed, 100% cotton sheets/blankets, & huge closet Holei Sea Arch, Chain of Craters Road, HVNP, Volcano
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Mme. Pele, as seen from the ocean 9/11/16, Kalapana Cultural Tours. the ONLY way to go, COME SEE!
Queen memory foam bed, 100% cotton sheets/blankets, & huge closet
Holei Sea Arch, Chain of Craters Road, HVNP, Volcano
cozy seating for coffee, cocktails or watching TV
Puna Coast, along the Red Road
Work space, with a view
Visiting Mme. Pele, ocean entry 9/11/16
E Komo Mai, Welcome!
Green Sea Turtle, Punalu'u Black Sand Beach
lava, LAVA, it's amazing!!
pre-dawn visit to Mme. Pele
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Larry O
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding place to rent”
Reviewed 28 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Ecko's Ohia Hale is a truly unique and wonderful place to stay. It is on the edge of the Rainforest, so as soon as you walk out the door you can see the lush foliage and flowers, plus hear the sounds of the birds. What make this place so unique is Lisa the owner and her cat Ecko. Lisa as there to meet us late the night we arrive. From that time forward she as very responsive and polite to all of our questions, plus gave a lot of insight on places off the map and short cuts to places on the map. Just to show you how great of a person and host Lisa is, I was interested in the foliage and flowers that I could see from our driveway in the Rainforest. So when we came back the next day she had cleared a path for me to walk out and take pictures of them. Make sure you visit Pahoa, a cross between an old western town and a hippie commune. If you want the best smoothie on the island make sure you visit the Get Shaking, just past the Botanical Gardens on the Old Scenic Highway.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2018
Mahalo nui loa for the review~ A pleasure to meet you & share my favorite places. So glad you were able to escape the Wisconsin winter chill & enjoy a Hawaiian adventure! Always welcome.
A hui hou
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joelydown...
Bothell, Washington
1 review
“Great Great Great... Perfect location and fantastic host(s)!”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is a great unit hosted by a fantastic lady and her amazing cat Ecko! Lisa is the perfect hostess and available (or not if you want some solitude) to assist with anything. She has a wealth of knowledge about the island should you have any questions at all. The unit itself is very private (your own little apartment) and is spotless. Fully equipped to make your stay easy! The location is very central to all that the green side of the Big Island has to offer.
I will be back and would not hesitate to recommend Ecko's Ohai Hale to anyone!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Mahalo nui loa~ SO glad you packed many adventures in a few days/nights! Look forward to seeing you again, as a guest or a new neighbor! Happy trails, a hui hou, & much aloha~
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ber A
1 review
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was a great little hideaway. Would stay here again. There is a lot to see in this area. My husband and I spent the last few days of our trip here. We went snorkeling at the tide pools, to the light house near by. Lava tree state park. Wish we had more time in this area. Lisa was a great host giving us advice as to where to go. She works at a amazing smoothie place we went twice it was our favorite on the island. Thanks Lisa for such a great time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Mahalo! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us! Sharing my favorite places to see, eat & (some of) the Hawaiian culture/legends, are just some of the reasons I started this adventure in vacation rentals!
Hope you return & continue your exploration of the Big Island, there's plenty more adventures ahead....
A hui hou~
Lisa & Ecko
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nankom1
Michigan City, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay here. Owner shares know-how to get the most of your vacation”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Clean, comfortable and all you need is here! Quiet neighborhood. Tropical setting. Beach & snorkel gear provided. Owner has an adorable cat who rewards you w/ attention.
Best part is the owner. She communicates well and encourages questions. She was always available in person or via text/phone, yet she was never intrusive. Her advice gave us the inside track to find and experience the best of the east-side of the Big Island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
Mahalo, Nancy & Ray! Thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both & offering suggestions of MY favorite things to do & see in the Puna district! Hope you choose to return & continue to explore more, & embrace the Hawaiian culture... Hope to keep in touch, & see you again.
Ecko tested AND approved!
A hui hou
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacevall...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, cozy, clean and very friendly host”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was pretty much everything I hoped for on my first trip to the Big Island. It was a very nice and clean little place. Lisa was so helpful and had many ideas for us what to do and see. Thank you Lisa, we love to come back on my next trip.

Tae & Julia from Vancouver, Canada

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2017
Mahalo, Tea & Julia!
Mme. Pele has drawn attention to herself, once again... There was yet another collapse, yesterday afternoon, the 'hot crack' that HVNP & USGS has been investigating, CRACKED all the way! I'll send video!
Mahalo nui loa, & look forward to you NEXT Hawaiian adventure.
Lisa & Ecko
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing