We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, enjoyable stay, only a couple of...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of hawaiian journeys

studio at dusk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
studio at dusk
kitchen area bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
studio at dusk
kitchen area
bedroom
living area 2bedroom
studio yurt
view of studio from 2 br yurt
plume from volcano
view of south point from property
bathroom
side view of 1 bedroom yurt
view from 1 br yurt to the other yurts
Copy of The 3 Amigo Yurts 054
view of hilo bay from tidepools
Copy of The 3 Amigo Yurts 058
one and two bedroom yurts
sunrise over yurts
Copy of The 3 Amigo Yurts 081.jpgview of property from street
studio kitchen area
studio bed
studio
studio
property at dusk
living area 1 bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ocean View, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
628travis...
Oxford, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, enjoyable stay, only a couple of tiny issues.”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This was my first time staying in a yurt and it turned out to be very pleasant. Ocean View was a nice quiet location. The owner was very kind and easy to talk to. The only small issues were the wind (no control over it), lack of a fan for when the inside of the yurt got very warm in the afternoon, no stove or oven (may have not been feasible to put in), and the wi-if reception was spotty. None of those issues really were major, though and can be tweaked a little. The views were great despite the vog from Kilauea. I would stay here again if I came back to Hawaii. It was easy to find as well. I would recommend this place to friends. The yurt was cozy and homey. I lucked out on being able to rent this place for my vacation and had a wonderful stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rawduke
Duluth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unusual, unique, strange,and we'll stay again if we get the chance”
Reviewed 8 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I'll start with the basics: clean, quiet, reasonably priced. Close to south side attractions.
Lisa is nice to deal with,helpful and friendly.
I don't think that anyone who's been to Ocean View would deny that it's an unusual place. Awesome views of the Pacific.
The yurt was comfortable. It was too chilly to open the plastic windows,so the view from inside wasn't much.
Clear and quiet at night led to some good star gazing, even through the skylight.
The incinerating toilet took a little getting used to,but it was far more comfortable and convenient than most campground facilities.
Close to a Thai restaurant, and a bar and grill, both worth a stop. Good food and friendly service.
This isn't a five star resort,but it is better than a five star campground.
And again, my best criteria for lodging: clean, quiet and reasonably priced

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piggsi3
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, very cosy”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here during our honeymoon as we wanted something well priced and closer to Volcano national park than the major cities of Kona or Hilo. The set up is fantastic, lovely Yurts that are extremely well equipped for all you need. Only 40min drive to Volcan Ntl Park (well worth spending 2 days here) and Al the owner was a great help with very nice local places to get food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mightylee
1 review
“Glamping at its finest!”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I came upon this place via flipkey. Outstanding place to stay. He has thought of every little detail while designing the yurt, including a coffee grinder and barbecue materials!! The water in the shower was instantly heated. The incinerator toilet looked brand new. In fact everything looked so well maintained. We were warmly greeted by Alfred upon our arrival and shown around the yurt. Also it was raining during our stay but it was perfectly comfy and cozy. What a steal deal!! And for sixty bucks a night!! Kudos to Alfred and hawaiian journeys

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasajane3
Keizer, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect little place! We stayed in a studio yurt and it was clean and well maintained. The decor is charming and the beds are comfortable. The owner Al made everything so easy, he had great local tips for things to see or areas not to miss, but also made us feel like we had our space. The yurts are well placed on the property, we never even saw the other guests. The view of south point in the mornings was a great way to start the day off. You definitely need a car to get around the island. Being situated at the southern tip was great for us, each day we would take off and explore a side of the island. I would LOVE to come stay here again, I would recommend this over the more commercial hotels and resorts for a more Island feel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing