We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderfully designed space in a lovely part of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Shower and Private Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shower and Private Garden
Spa Style Bathroom with Solid Copper Tub for Two
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Shower and Private Garden
Spa Style Bathroom with Solid Copper Tub for Two
Private Outdoor Shower Garden
Comfy Seating
Fully Equipped Kitchen and Dining
Lokilani Kitchen
View from the Kitchen Sink Window
Kohala Mountain View
Fragrant Angels Outside Your Door
Ginger
Flowering Stephanotis
Papayas Galore.....We Like to Share
Plumeria Tree in Full Bloom
Kanehoa View
Kohala Mountain Rainbow
Minutes to the Best Kohala Beaches
Mauna Kea Beach 5 Miles Down the Road
Mauna Kea
Hapuna Beach
Sunset on Hapuna
Waimea Town Market at Parker School Every Saturday.....The Bread is Amazing!!
Kamuela Farmers Market on Saturdays in Waimea at Pukalani Stables
Hamakua Coast Waterfall
Starry Starry Nights - No Telescope Neccessary
Our Driveway on the Left Off Kanehoa Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Waimea, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paul94501
Alameda, California
1 review
“A wonderfully designed space in a lovely part of Waimea”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This is a beautiful space with thoughtful amenities in a lovely part of Waimea. Easy access to the Waimea countryside and to the upper Kona coast and to Hawi and hiking trails. A lovely romantic hideaway with a great copper soaking tub for two, a large indoor shower, an outdoor shower, (lots of hot water!) and plenty of private space. A great skylight, and a well stocked kitchen. No full stove, but a large toaster/oven, hot plate and outdoor grill. Plenty of beach toys, beach chairs and 2 boogie boards. Free use of a washer/dryer too!
It was a joy to stay there. I wish we could have stayed longer. I am planning to return on my next trip to Hawaii next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, soaking tub, space, comfortable bed
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Aloha Paul,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Lokilani so much that we can welcome you back next year. Remember, all of our numerous repeat guests receive a 10% discount.
We chose this part of the Island because of it's beauty and convenient location to the best beaches, hiking and the lovely Waimea Town. We have appointed Lokilani in a way that offers privacy, serenity and romance. The kitchen with the oven and 2 burner induction cooker affords a savings when it comes to eating and a great space to prepare the wonderful fruits, veggies and local foods available at the many farmers markets.
Thank you again for allowing us to be your hosts. We look forward to seeing you next year.
Mahalo,
Matthew and Rose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy J W
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gem of a rental with a rough edge”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Because we stayed three weeks, apparently longer than most any other previous guest, I'd give five, not four, stars on account of the lack of a "full kitchen," that is, only a double-burner electric hot plate and not a standard range/stove with four coils. Consequently my desire to cook two meals daily, not just fried eggs or greens, was dashed, leaving me to buy local store deli food--conveniently about 20 minutes drive into Waimea's main shopping district with favorite, often-frequented restaurants--which I supplemented with fruit and vegees, super sweet and obtained from 3 different Farmers' Markets during the week. Owner provided a replacement lamp so we could read in an already dimly lit room and quickly responded to all my text messages, his preferred way to communicate, to replenish dish detergent, trash bags, or toilet paper. Marvelous jungle setting facing verdant hills of ranch land on the dry side of Waimea minutes from purportedly the nation's best beach with a sheltered, clear-blue, calm-water cove at the north end where we snorkeled 10 times in three weeks delighted by stunning marine life near rocks (eel, moorish idol, butterfly fish, starfish anemone, for example). Each night provided blissful and sound sleep with trade winds and a guardian gecko with his clicking sound in the bathroom ceiling, along with other geckos outside. Owner maintains native plants, flowering shrubs, and trees on his 2-acre property with a dozen egg-laying hens, absolutely breathtaking to stroll through at dawn and do before-breakfast exercises on the grass-covered a'a (volcano rock). Got to eating fresh eggs daily and papayas too, at times from the owner himself. Didn't expect all the exciting Indiana Jones-like adventure with atypical flash flooding once, almost twice, for that area and a grass fire too. Still our vacay and stay was exhilarating for hurricane season June-September.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2015
We're happy you enjoyed your stay at Lokilani and our beautiful 2 acre property.
I'm glad you liked the eggs and fruits we provided and you got from the nearby farmers markets. It made cooking 3 meals a day an easy endeavor using a 2 burner induction cook top, large toaster oven, full size refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, blender and all the tools for preparing and serving in the kitchen. The outdoor gas BBQ and furniture is great for Alfresco dining as well. We have many long term, repeat guests who appreciate the amenities a kitchen has to offer.
We're always here for our guests and texting is the best way to reach me while I am out working keeping the property groomed. I was more than happy to replace items as you needed them.
Sometimes during the rainy season it can be overcast and not as bright. We have added additional lighting for our guests to use when needed.
Thank you again for your extended stay. I hope we can be your hosts again in the future.
Aloha and Mahalo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc S. W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good central location”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A very attractive yurt-like design. Huge bathroom including shower and big copper tub. The kitchen area is quite nice. A pair of induction hotplate units serve as a stove top and work well for basics but don't plan to cook a Thanksgiving feast here.

Although, its not officially part of the amenities, the owner offered fresh papayas from his trees and eggs from his hens. Don't count on these as the trees and the hens have their own schedules!

You may find you share the unit with a gecko. Don't freak out geckos are good. They are clean, don't bite people and control insects better than chemicals. (This is tropical island and insects come with the territory.)

The location is very good as you can drive to any part of the island from here in a reasonable amount of time. The local town Waimea (Kamuela) is not a resort location, however, it is an odd amalgam of astronomers, farmers and cowboys. If you are looking for resort type action drive down the western slope to the south Kohala area. Basic suburban amenities like grocery stores, gas an a decent restaurants can be found in Waimea with only a 10 minute drive.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing