We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy studio condo with nice view.”
other travellers have booked this property
Outdoor pool seen from balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor pool seen from balcony
Balcony table and chairs Country Club front on Banyan Street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
41 reviews
Outdoor pool seen from balcony
Balcony table and chairs
Country Club front on Banyan Street
Queen bed
Queen hide a bed
Dresser, mirror and floor lamp
Looking toward balcony through living area
Armoir and dining table w 4 chairs
Living room area
Dining table and 4 chairs
Kitchen area
Bathroom and linens
Bathroom sink area
Lilikulani Park walking distance
Coconut Island Park walking distance
Daily maintenance for outdoor pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Japanese first
Any
English first
Rosemary...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not really a condominium”
Reviewed 30 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I was disappointed with the room. It was just a hotel room which had added a full size refrigerator and kitchen sink and cabinets. It was fairly clean, but the entire complex needs renovation. Joseph was very helpful and always available by phone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked least: misrepresented as a condo
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph R
1 review
“Cozy studio condo with nice view.”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Condo is on the third floor overlooking Reed's Bay in Hilo. The property is a little run down but the accommodations were comfortable. With a refer, microwave and toaster ovens, kitchenette and a single burner stove it was perfect for a solo venture like mine or even a small group of 2-4 people. The bed was very comfortable and had no problem sleeping.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location with beautiful ocean view”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The property is poorly maintained but in a really good location on Banyan Drive. The room is moderately sized with comfortable furnishings. Kitchenette was well equipped with what is needed for a three night stay. Cleaners did not clean the room thoroughly for our arrival but left all cleaning products for our use. Bring your own towels as the room does not provide sufficient towels and linens. The room could use a detail cleaning but other than that it was very comfortable. The downside, you cannot sit on the lanai and enjoy the beautiful ocean views in the morning with your cup of coffee as the sun shines right toward the lanai and it was scorching hot. The air conditioning did not work well and it was really hot in the room. Needed to buy a fan to cool the room. I would stay there again remembering to bring everything you need including a fan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, convenience, and ocean views
Liked least: Not cleaned before arrival and air conditioning did not work at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syrdavmir
Baldwinsville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unit itself is OK, condo as a whole is awful”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
6
people found this review helpful

This is the hardest review I've done. The condo unit we stayed in was OK once we got inside. The unit owner was nice and easy to contact. The unit has one of the best views in Hilo and although not updated was still OK. The condo itself is awful. The stairwell and elevator getting to the unit smelled of urine and there was a sign posted about the elevator being locked at night for safety. The people hanging around the outside were shady at best and we kept on expecting our car to be broken into (but it wasn't). You can tell there is potential if there was any upkeep or cleaning of the building, but you really have to get past all the filth to see it. I would not recommend this condo for families, couples (especially bodyguards) would be OK to stay here.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfercha...
Glendive, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
546 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
5
people found this review helpful

This is a really difficult rental to review. The building where the unit is located is the most rundown place I have ever stayed. My understanding is the property went into bankruptcy or something like that.....taken over by the state for unpaid utility bills...I don't know. In any event, the "clientele" in the area is sketchy, the building has fallen into disrepair, and the complex is filthy. Having said all of this, I believe the condition of the building is beyond Joseph's control, and he has kept the rental unit in pretty decent shape. Sure there are some worn areas in the room, but that is going to be the case everywhere in the city that receives the most annual rainfall in the U.S.

So I will focus on the positives for a minute. At one time, this must have been a prime property. The location is excellent. Everything you will want is nearby - from the best fish market in the town, to Walmart, to attractions. The building is located on well-known Banyan Drive, and Coconut Island is a short walk. The unit's lanai overlooks Reed's Bay - beautiful! Joseph does a good job communicating, and has provided all the necessities a person could need. (Pots, pans, plates, utensils, beach gear, etc.) The Wi-Fi worked well. We were able to fish right outside the condo. Parking was never a problem. The elevator was a plus (many properties in Hawaii don't have elevators.) There was a pool, but considering the condition of the complex, we decided to avoid it.

My wife and I had a great time here. It is really too bad this place will probably not be around the next time we make it to Hilo....nor should it be unless someone takes it over who can clean it up and restore it's former glory.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Everything outside the door of the unit.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing