We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Place to Stay on The Big Island”
other travellers have booked this property
Kapehu Retreat House from private access road
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kapehu Retreat House from private access road
Kapehu Retreat House from hill above hot tub on lanai
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Kapehu Retreat House from private access road
Kapehu Retreat House from hill above
hot tub on lanai
spacious living room with fireplace and views in 3 directions
fully equipped sunny kitchen w views in 2 directions: ocean and forest
dining room w views in 2 directions
outdoor dining on lanai with views all around
Hamakua Coast as viewed from lanai
master bedroom w king bed and pillow-top mattress has ocean view and stream view
master bath with sunken tub, sunken marble shower
Pua bedroom w queen bed
writing desk in pua bedroom
Wailele bedroom, directly above stream
studio bedroom w bunk + full futon bed sleeps 5
futon in studio bedroom
4th bathroom (w marble shower) adjoins studio bedroom
view of house from orchard
private waterfall on property
Kapehu Retreat House north view of house
front entrance
aerial view of Kapehu house showing garden tool shed and caretaker's blue truck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leopold41...
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place to Stay on The Big Island”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Kapehu Retreat is amazing. Our family of six stayed for 10 days at the end of April 2016 for our first visit to Hawaii. There was plenty of room for us all to spread out and feel relaxed. The grounds are incredible and I can’t think of a better place to stay to access all of the variety on the Big Island. We have four kids aged 11 to 18 and there was plenty to keep them all busy. In our 10 days we were able to snorkel at five places (Capt Cook Monument A+, Honaunau Bay A, Kapoho Tide Pools B+, Kaiholena Cove D-, and Mahukona Beach B-), drive up Mauna Kea (need a 4wd or we found out the park rangers get grumpy), visit Hapuna Beach, Rainbow Falls, Boiling Pots/Pe’epe’e Falls, Wai’ale Falls, Akaka Falls, Ahalanui Pool, Hilo Botanical Garden, two days at Volcano National Park, Lava Tree State Park, Kaumana Cave, and Punaluu Black Sand Beach (got to swim with the turtles)!

The day after we arrived, we made a Costco run on the Kona side and had food for the week and just picked up smaller items in Hilo as needed and hit the outdoor market for fresh fruit. Some great restaurants we tried were Ken’s Pancakes, Café 100 (Loco Moco!), Hilo Burger Joint, Suisan (Poke!), and Tex’ Drive In near Waimea (Malasadas!).
Contrary to what you may hear about the rain on the Hilo side, it didn’t limit our activities except for one of the days at the Volcanoes Park and it wouldn’t have mattered which side we stayed on in this case. We were still able to do the Kilaeua Iki hike the following day. The rains in the evening are great and the night sounds and the cool breeze through the windows just about puts you to sleep. If the light in the morning bothers you, bring an eye cover if you want to sleep in.

We weren’t able to enjoy the fruit trees on the property since they weren’t in season but there is quite a variety if the time is right. Also, I did not have any issues with mosquitoes at the house but my wife and son (whom mosquitoes in general seem to love) got several bites while sitting on the porch in the evenings and had to apply insect repellent.

Tom and Marcy have a wonderful place they are sharing. It was beautiful and peaceful and had everything we needed. There was even enough snorkel gear for our family so we did not have to rent any. My oldest daughter hopes they won’t be able to retire too soon so it will still be available in the coming years! And Kealani was great and always helpful and available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed H
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house, friendly people”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow, what an amazing property. The property is just as described and shown in the photos. I called the owner a couple of times and she was very helpful and professional. Property was spotless clean when we arrived.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMur01
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay!”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Hawaii, and we weren't sure how staying on the Hilo side would be. To begin with, the place was gorgeous. The lanai wraps around 3 sides and gives fantastic views of the surrounding area down to the ocean. We started every morning with a cup of coffee and that gorgeous view. When it came to activities, we searched TripAdvisor and had some suggestions by the owner, who obviously knows the area quite well. A nice surprise was how close Volcanoes National Park was. We made 3 trips there, one of which was in the evening- (bring warm clothing if you do go at night). We went snorkeling (there are sets at the house), and visited the Hilo farmers market - loved the lilikoi fruit jams and butter we found! Akaka Falls are literally around the corner, and the last day we spent at the Botanic Gardens north of Hilo. The garden is, a real gem, we didn't leave ourselves near enough time to do it justice. We had such a great time we are hoping to come back with extended family. I feel we definitely got a taste of the "real" Hawaii. We did spend some time on the Kona side, which was fun too, but we all agreed that our favorite things to do were on the Hilo side.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rasmith59
Reston, VA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Island Retreat”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I am a little hesitant to give this place the great review it deserves because I fear that it will book up and we will never be able to return. Anyway, here goes. We stayed here with family over Spring break. On a clear day you can see the ocean and the snow on Mt. Kilauea. The lanai on the main house is expansive and looks out over the farm to the ocean. Very secluded. All the amenities are top notch. Big kitchen great for preparing meals.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KsReviews
Destin, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Our family spent a week at the Kapehu house. It was paradise! It is on the eastern side of Hawaii and we saw amazing sunrises each morning. You can see the ocean from the living room, master bedroom, and balcony. Our children would say, "Paradise is where you can sleep in and still see the sunrise," (thanks to a time change because of travel). We enjoyed breakfast and dinner on the porch, and the kitchen was well supplied. The bathrooms were amazing. We loved walking the property, the children loved swimming in the pool at the bottom of the waterfall. Every morning we would sit on the porch, look out over property towards the ocean, have a cup of coffee and just enjoy the solitude and beauty. It was just what we needed, a time of refreshment and nourishment for our souls. The question everyone is asking is when will we return!

We were greeted at the house, shown around to understand the house, and even received some welcomed suggestions about how to spend our time on the island.

There were only two things I wish the house had...a crockpot and a gas grill. These did not detract from the amazing experience we had though - I just love to cook and grill...and these are both quick ways to do it after a day of sightseeing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy, the beauty of the house/property, the view
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing