We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$311
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/07/22
Booking.com
US$311
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/07/22
Agoda.com
US$228
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/07/22
Hotels.comUS$311
travelup.comUS$246
TravelocityUS$311
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,383)
Filter reviews
2,383 results
Traveller rating
520
936
683
171
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
520
936
683
171
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coconut island ocean view banyan trees mauna kea banyan drive the big island liliuokalani gardens close to the airport japanese garden hotel restaurant national park mini fridge stayed one night lobby bay balcony volcano
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,383 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2022

Booked directly with the hotel and indicated 3 guests. Booked 2 beds and got a single king. Had to ask for a roll-away for our daughter, which they wanted to charge us an additional $30/night for but complained. No housekeeping during our stay, which was not communicated to us at booking or check-in. Had to call to ask for towels/coffee/trash removal. Resort fee but the only real amenity is the pool. Room wasn't as clean as I would have liked. Walls were paper thin and we could hear our neighbors/those in the hallway. Bed was fine but pillows were old and flat. Service at restaurant was slow and the two of the three items we ordered were incorrect/missing items. Never refilled our drinks. Decent enough, but not sure I'd stay again.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 963christiea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 March 2022

We stayed at the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel for our first time this past weekend for our getaway to the BIg Island. I thought that the hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating to our needs. I slept really well. Only con I would have to say, is that there was not a microwave in our room to warm up our food. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this place to my family and friends.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonip474
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2022 via mobile

Wonderful stay at old school traditionally classic hotel with well-trained friendly staff and great restaurant. Only complaint was ice machine on our floor was out of ice cubes each morning and pool rules regarding pool towels wasn’t explicitly mentioned initially

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lisalI1553HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 March 2022 via mobile

We loved our stay at The Hilo Hawaiian Hotel. We were there two weekends in a row and surprisingly we got the same exact room twice. loved the guest service and they were very accommodating. Plenty of parking. If I had to say one thing to improve it would be cosmetics renovations like maybe change out wall paper or the carpets. Yes, This hotel is on the older side and needs some renovations however we loved the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel and will be back in the future. Mahalo to all working at The Hilo Hawaiian Hotel ❤️

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BranBranDaMan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 March 2022 via mobile

The rooms were too noisy. We can hear noise from people running in hall and talking in rooms nearby. Also road traffic noise was loud. Hard to sleep because it startles you. Also a/c was loud.
The staff at front desk was great.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank U4442HVjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews