We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Hidden Gem - Best Stop on our Hawaiian...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bamboo Bungalow's covered, private garden entry
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bamboo Bungalow's covered, private garden entry
Outdoor garden jetted spa with UV light water sterilization, infraed sauna and shower Your romantic  Bamboo Bungalow luxury retreat.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Bamboo Bungalow's covered, private garden entry
Outdoor garden jetted spa with UV light water sterilization, infraed sauna and shower
Your romantic  Bamboo Bungalow luxury retreat.
Spend a quiet evening viewing DVDs on the 50 inch Plasma HDTV in the privacy of your living room.
Prepare a home cooked meal in your fully equipped chef\'s kitchen.
Enjoy a romantic evening in the privacy of your master bedroom with Asian-style furnishings and cozy fireplace
Zen-style platform bed with Shoji doors
Pamper yourself and take an unhurried soak in the Japanese furo tub.
Listen to the waterfall gently cascading down natural rock stream into pond
Take a stroll or meditate in the the peaceful gardens.  Observe and learn from nature.
Hand-carved stone tsukubai water basin at entrance to courtyard
Dine or relax in your Japanese-inspired courtyard garden oasis.
Watch the sunrise from your private upstairs balcony
Relax and unwind by the pond and waterfall at the garden courtyard
Japanese-inspired and naturalistic tropical gardens
Bird's nest fern, hapuu and rattlesnake plant in garden
Garden splendor
Soak in the furo tub overlooking the Golden Bamboo.
Colvillea tree in blossom
Colvillea tree flowering in garden
Bird of Paradise in bloom
Vanda Sansai Blue orchid
Madagascar gecko
Mauna Kea from Richardson's Beach along Hilo's shoreline
Magnificant views of Mauna Kea from Richardson's Beach
Richardson's Beach in Hilo is an amazing, tranquil black sand beach...you can relax, surf or swim
Snorkel with tropical fish and turtles ...beach equipment provided
Swim and snorkel at Hilo's Richardson's Beach
Soak in the freshwater lagoons and bask in the sunshine
Surf at Richardson's Beach...bodyboards provided
Coconut Island in Hilo Bay
Enjoy the beautiful sunset over Hilo Bay from Coconut Island
Surf Honolii where the locals go or catch the sunrise
Stream of lava flowing through ohia forest
Storefronts in historic downtown Hilo on the bay
Fireworks over Hilo Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
adrienne...
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing Hidden Gem - Best Stop on our Hawaiian Vacation!”
Reviewed 11 April 2011 for a stay in February 2011
6
people found this review helpful

What's not to like about the Hilo Bungalow? We were blown away by the level of quality and attention to detail in this space. Every comfort of home was considered and delivered. The bungalow itself was just the right size for the two of us. The bedroom was quite comfortable, the living areas were wonderful (complete with HDTV) and the kitchen was state of the art. Even the bathroom was a highlight, with an amazing Japanese soaking tub. The only thing this place needs is an outdoor hot tub, to put it over the top! They had plenty of things on hand to make your stay great - coolers, flashlights, etc. We also loved that we had a garage parking space...so nice when you are cruising around in a jeep and dont want to unload it every night. The neighborhood was lovely and very quiet and we felt right at home. It truly was the most relaxing stop on our vacation!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2011
Aloha Adrienne, Thank you for sharing your accolades and praise for the Bamboo Bungalow. I am so pleased that you consider our bungalow retreat to be the best stop on your vacation in Hawaii...what a wonderful compliment! Mahalo for your appreciation of the property and the attention and thought that went into designing this special place from the Japanese bathroom and furo soaking tub to the peaceful landscaped gardens. We are presently adding an outdoor hot tub with a waterfall and pond to enhance the relaxing garden experience for our guests. I look forward to your return stay on your next visit to the Big Island. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Reviewed 6 April 2011 for a stay in March 2011
6
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Apr 2011
Aloha Colin & Nancy, Mahalo for your recognition and appreciation of the peaceful atmosphere and special attributes that the Zen Bamboo Bungalow and naturalistic Japanese garden in Hilo has to offer. We are happy that you felt relaxed and at home at the bungalow while on vacation and enjoyed snorkeling in Kona during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again for your return stay on your next Big Island vacation. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed 28 March 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Mar 2011
Aloha Julia, Mahalo for chosing the Zen Bamboo Bungalow as your homebase for your Big Island vacation. It was our pleasure meeting you and Julie, and hosting your stay in Hilo. I am delighted you found the accommodations comfortable and peaceful and that everything was to your liking. Mahalo again for your encouraging words of appreciaton. I look forward to your return stay on your next Big Island adventure. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IsThatASe...
Waimea, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If perfection is in the details, this place is perfect!”
Reviewed 28 February 2011 for a stay in February 2011

My husband and I spent four relaxing days in the Japanese Bungalow. It is clean, quiet, comfortable and a wonderful retreat to get away from it all. All details in this cottage are top-of-the-line, from the construction to the furnishings. Just perfect.
A short drive to downtown Hilo, shopping centers and restaurants this was a great base from which to explore the east side of the big island.
We hope to come back again!
Note: Although the Zen cottage is too small for families or groups, be sure to check out their Craftsman Luxury Bunglow located on the premises.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2011
Aloha Anne and Dwight, It was so nice to meet you. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bamboo Bungalow and found the bungalow to be a perfect retreat from which to explore the island. Thanks for appreciating all the details! Please do come back again. I look forward to your return stay on your next big island adventure. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta Canada
Reviewed 8 December 2010 for a stay in November 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Dec 2010
Aloha Ken and Leanne and mahalo for choosing to stay at the Bamboo Bungalow while visiting the Big Island. We are happy you enjoyed the accommodations and amenities provided for your comfort and pleasure, and also were able to experience seeing the lava flow while you were here. We look forward to your return stay at the bungalow on your next visit.
Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$160
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing