We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hakalau Work Trip”
other travellers have booked this property
The Grand Melemele Home with plenty of free parking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grand Melemele Home with plenty of free parking.
Enjoy this view of the sparkling blue ocean! Take a moment to sit down and relax on the magnificent wraparound lanai (porch).
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The Grand Melemele Home with plenty of free parking.
Enjoy this view of the sparkling blue ocean!
Take a moment to sit down and relax on the magnificent wraparound lanai (porch).
The sitting area with its own fireplace.  Time to plan your Hawaiian adventures!
The living area: complete with a large television, dvd, cable and internet service.
Imagine the meals you'll enjoy in the luxurious dining area.
Dining, reading, watching television, etc.  There's space for the whole family.
A big kitchen island on the Big Island!
The fabulous kitchen, complete with Viking appliances and more!
The fully equipped laundry room!
The very classy downstairs restroom with shower.
The fully-furnished beautiful downstairs bedroom with a queen-sized bed.
The grand staircase invites you upstairs.
The unique library and it's breathtaking ocean views.
The gigantic master bedroom, complete with sitting area and king-sized bed.
Melt your worries in this comfortable clawfoot tub in the master bathroom.
In the master bathroom you'll find the spacious dual shower!
You'll have your own space in the master bathroom with dual sinks and vanities.
Wonderful views are available in this upstairs bedroom with its queen-sized bed.
The upstairs bathroom, complete with tub and shower.
Dream of Hawaii in this four-post queen-sized bed in an upstairs bedroom.
Enjoy the back lanai and use the covered walkway to reach the garage.
The mineral pool is like a beauty treatment for your skin, hair, and body!
Your own 730 square foot fully-enclosed two-car garage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hakalau, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hakalau Work Trip”
Reviewed 28 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Excellent option for my three coworkers and I. The house was very clean and spacious and featured four great bedrooms! The drive into Hilo was about 20 minutes which was well worth the drive for dinner. Pineapples for dinner and Suisan for lunch we’re our favorite food options. We did a couple day trips around the island and found Hakalau to be very convenient. The best bet for beaches we’re in the Gold Coast area just leeward of Waimea and the lava in the south is a must see. Captain Cook is another great option for beaches but the drive is a bit longer, worth it if you want to go see south point.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tisa R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The home is beautiful and real felt like home. We was here for our daughter's wedding and it was perfect open area for my daughter and bridalparty to get ready. We loved our stay and will return soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
Your are welcome back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ldhurt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grand Melemele”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Beautiful, large home; loved the pool as well. Website gives Accurate description of property (although I feel it would sleep only 8 people, not 10; 4 bedrooms and sofa was not a fold out). Property manager was helpful and friendly and responded quickly to the few questions we had. Although there was a coffee shop nearby, the home was several miles away from any restaurants or grocery stores, but we actually didn't mind; stopped at Costco in kona and cooked most meals (kitchen stocked w dishes and cookware). Our only issue was that it was really hot (stayed in mid July) and the portable room air conditioners struggled to cool the spaces. At times it was cooler to sit outside than inside. The large kitchen/family room area had only one portable air conditioner and even though it ran constantly, it did not really cool the space. Again, not a huge problem bc we were busy hiking, traveling to waterfalls & sightseeing, not sitting in the house all day. Would definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersfi...
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Air conditioned retreat north of Hilo”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

After spending some time on the resort side of the island, we wanted a home base near Hilo so we could better explore the waterfalls and volcanos without the long drive back. But we also need air conditioning for sleeping! We were so glad to find the Grand Melemele home, and it was just as advertised. It's a very clean, contemporary home and offered a cool night of sleep. The pool is beautiful, everything was comfortable and we felt right at home. We were minutes from Akaka and Umauma Falls as well as Honolni beach, and about 15 minutes north of Hilo. It took about an hour door to door for the visitors center at the National Volcano park. So very convenient. And our host made sure all went smoothly. Thanks for sharing your home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawpar
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolute Paradise at this Beautiful Home!!!”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Our stay at this home was amazing! This was our first time to stay on the Big Island, and we loved this location on the Hilo side. It is close to beautiful waterfalls, botanical gardens, zip lines, parks, and you are constantly surrounded by lush foliage! A couple of our favorite activites were the Umauma Falls and Zipline Experience(right down the road) and horseback riding in Waipio Valley. You are also close to Volcano Nat. Park and the Mauna Kae summit. You can tell that the owners have given a lot of attention to detail, as the house is absolutely gorgeous and SO spacious with plenty of room to spread out. The front porch has an awesome view of the ocean, and we spent many mornings there drinking coffee and watching the sun rise! The owner/mgr. was always available to answer questions about the area, etc. This was a true "Home Away from Home Experience". I would highly recommend this rental - you won't be disappointed!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for such a nice review, look forward to your next stay.sharla
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing