We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,103)
Filter reviews
1,103 results
Traveller rating
838
187
44
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
838
187
44
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool costa rica zip lining horseback riding beach club main restaurant san jose pura vida swim up bar howler monkeys liberia airport ceviche golf course rainy season remote location hour drive the pacific ocean
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 1,103 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Punta Islita is a great hotel - it’s in a fantastic location with wonderful views (though there are a lot of steps from beach to the lobby). The restaurant is lovely and has great views. We stayed in a two bedroom villa with a small plunge pool. It was spacious and also had great views, but was dated. These are privately owned which is probably not the best move for the hotel if they want to be able to renovate and have a top-level of finishes. But the staff was friendly, outgoing, and keen to make sure our activities (horse back riding, zip lining, a visit to the Macaw breeding center) were all enjoyable. We stayed here after being up in the cloud forest and down in the Osa Peninsula, and it was a perfect place to relax, have some beach time and just hang out as a family.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank PineStreetEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thanks so much for choosing Hotel Punta Islita as your Costa Rica adventure destination. We are proud to highlight our country's heartfelt hospitality and its impressive natural landscapes. Please do reach out with any suggestions that could help us improve the Villa you stayed at. Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Plunge pool suite was awesome - nice for a family - plenty of room with a huge private outside living area and a kitchen. Also got a golf cart to shuttle to the main area/beach. Warning if travelling on Christmas - could not find a Christmas mass nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0hnKur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for choosing Hotel Punta Islita as a family destination during such special dates. It was a pleasure to be your hosts and we extend our warmest wishes for a peaceful and wonderful 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful time relaxing and enjoying all the offerings of the hotel. Our deluxe suite was perfect and the view overlooking the forest to the sea breathtaking . The staff was kind, knowledgeable and eager to assist. We will certainly be back !

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bos2cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Thanks so much for choosing us as your special Holiday destination. It was a pleasure to be your hosts and we certainly look forward to your return. Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

I chose this hotel on a recommendation of a friend. I've never been a huge "beach lover-seeker" but I thought that for at least once in my life I could go and enjoy my stay at a beach. Punta Islita had terrific hospitality services; I couldn't be happier. I loved the fact that I didn't see any kids running around. The views to the beach were astonishing. I have to say that the staff paid close attention to their guests needs. The surrounding areas were serene and always had wifi available. The road to get to Punta Islita is not the best but not the worst either. I drive a Honda Civic and my car got there with no problems at all. The beach itself is not really nice but there are plenty of beautiful beaches within a 30-60 minutes driving range. If you are looking for a peaceful stay this is the hotel that you have to try.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are close to the restaurant, parking, and reception.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inside1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thanks for celebrating your exceptional stay! Hotel Punta Islita is a unique destination, standing out for its superb hospitality and connection to the land and the culture. We offer a rugged experience that lets travelers fully engage with the surroundings through art and adventure. It was a pleasure to be your hosts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

We booked an extended stay at the backend of our Backroads tour and cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed this hotel. While it can be an effort to reach the resort, we took advantage of local charter flights into the hotel's private airstrip which the hotel staff arranged for us - the kids loved the experience/views of CR to and from San Jose. This is a very unique hotel offering great cultural and eco-friendly adventures for the entire family. The beach club staff were awesome with incredible service. The beach/cove is very scenic and is really is one of the best places I have seen to teach kids to surf for the first time. Lot of wildlife and a visit to the ARA project (Scarlet Macaws) and local art museum are worth the time. It's great to see how the hotel supports the entire community. As frequent traveler to Marriott properties globally, this is the by far the friendliest staff I have encountered - Marvin does a incredible job meeting and attending to guest needs with the support of an incredible staff including Edgar, Gabriel, Antonio, and Diego. Well done. Hope to come back soon!

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Our biggest satisfaction comes from learning about our guests' marvelous experiences at Hotel Punta Islita and our surroundings. We always hope to be a gateway to Costa Rica's authentic adventures, culture, and hospitality. Thanks so much for selecting us and for taking the time to detail some of the unique experiences that you and your family encountered. Please do return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews