We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,102)
Filter reviews
1,102 results
Traveller rating
837
187
44
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
837
187
44
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool costa rica zip lining horseback riding beach club main restaurant san jose pura vida swim up bar howler monkeys liberia airport ceviche golf course rainy season remote location hour drive the pacific ocean
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 1,102 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2017

We stayed at Casa Atardecer that is connected with Hotel Punta Islita. Staying at the house was incredible. Truly exceeded our expectations for a relaxing honeymoon vacation. Staying at the house, we had access to the Hotel Amenities as well. The hotel staff were fantastic. To name a few, Marco, Christina, Marvin, Marciel, Christina, and Lejia.. many more to name that I can't remember. An exceptional experience and we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Greetings Sarah! Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Hotel Punta Islita is thrilled to offer a selection of Private Villas that feature full home comforts while granting access to our resort's amenities, facilities, and terrific staff. Thanks so much for celebrating our team's superb hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

We were at Hotel Punta Islita for 8 days. This place is wonderful and we can't wait until we can return. Our room was very well decorated with a tropical feel (and air conditioning!). The grounds are very well kept, the food good, enjoyed as many of the activities that we could but by far the highlight of the trip was the staff! We have traveled a fair amount but have never been anywhere where we have felt so spoiled and welcomed. From the time we were picked up at the airport to when we were dropped off again they were over-the-top wonderful. We'll truly miss Christina, Eduardo, Valeros, Edgar, Maurice, Luis and more that I can't remember. And if you do go....absolutely try Don Ramiros - a small restaurant owned by Miguel in the town of Islita. Love you all!!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thanks so much Jan! Hotel Punta Islita is a remarkable destination due to the heartfelt hospitality of our staff and neighbors. We believe that travel should engage the destination's natural and cultural settings. It is wonderful to learn that the connections you established provided a truly amazing experience. Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

What a special place! the staff and rooms were first class all the way. I felt so relaxed. The Nine hole golf course comes with the price of the room. So much fun. The Birds and Monkies were amazing. A photographer's dream come true. I can't say enough good things about Hotel Punta Islita! The food was terrific. The beach was so beautiful. There were so many activities offered on property. Great for honeymoon, anniversary or the whole family.

Room Tip: All rooms had a great view we were upgraded to a suite.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Our secluded natural setting showcases some of Costa Rica's intense biodiversity. We are thrilled that you found a photographer's dream at Hotel Punta Islita. We hope you return for another wild photoshoot very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We worried about going during the rainy season, but we ended up being so glad to have gone then. The weather was beautiful during the day and it generally rained after dark, with terrific lightening storms that were a treat to watch. The resort had very few visitors but still offered all of the activities. Everything was open and well staffed. We loved the zip line and did that two days in a row! We also did the horseback ride, which was fun, the early morning birdwatching (and saw a family of monkeys to boot), the Ara project, the cocktail mixing class (we don't drink but they did virgin drinks for us alongside the cocktails), and the cooking class (ceviche). My husband also hit a few balls around the golf course (not a nice one, but he still have fun) and played pick up soccer with the locals. Our trip there was absolutely magical.

Room Tip: we had an upgraded junior suite with a hot tub. it was perfect.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Thanks for capturing the spirit of Hotel Punta Islita's signature experiences. We are thrilled to offer many opportunities to connect with the destination and Costa Rica's authentic sights, thrills, and culture. We believe that travel should be an engaging life milestone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We traveled around Costa Rica on our honeymoon and stayed at 3 different hotels. Punta Islita was our favorite. At the time that we were there, there were probably a total of 30 other people at the hotel. We saw the same guests every day and we really got to know people. Our dining room servers knew our names quickly and were so friendly. We had a casita with a very private patio, with hammock and plunge pool and even an ocean view. The room was a very good size and was very comfortable. We took advantage of the fun activities onsite also-zip-line, monkey hike, cocktail mixing class. The grounds are beautiful and there is a lot of wildlife everywhere-howler monkeys, macaws, even a koaty (which we had never heard of!)
Special recognition to our great wait staff, Margarita, Antonio and Joe who greeted us so warmly every day. Every meal we had was delicious.
Reception staff Errol and Christina were extremely helpful and always greeted us with big smiles.
Marvin checked on us from time to time and Jairo was an awesome tour leader!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0yvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Hotel Punta Islita is a special destination, perfect to prompt full engagement. Be it love, friendship, curiosity, and fun, our location maximizes experiences. We believe that travel should connect, engage, and soothe. Thanks for letting us know that we fully succeeded!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews