We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scarlet Macaws and Howler Monkies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 November 2017

What a special place! the staff and rooms were first class all the way. I felt so relaxed. The Nine hole golf course comes with the price of the room. So much fun. The Birds and Monkies were amazing. A photographer's dream come true. I can't say enough good things about Hotel Punta Islita! The food was terrific. The beach was so beautiful. There were so many activities offered on property. Great for honeymoon, anniversary or the whole family.

Room Tip: All rooms had a great view we were upgraded to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Our secluded natural setting showcases some of Costa Rica's intense biodiversity. We are thrilled that you found a photographer's dream at Hotel Punta Islita. We hope you return for another wild photoshoot very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2017

We worried about going during the rainy season, but we ended up being so glad to have gone then. The weather was beautiful during the day and it generally rained after dark, with terrific lightening storms that were a treat to watch. The resort had very few visitors but still offered all of the activities. Everything was open and well staffed. We loved the zip line and did that two days in a row! We also did the horseback ride, which was fun, the early morning birdwatching (and saw a family of monkeys to boot), the Ara project, the cocktail mixing class (we don't drink but they did virgin drinks for us alongside the cocktails), and the cooking class (ceviche). My husband also hit a few balls around the golf course (not a nice one, but he still have fun) and played pick up soccer with the locals. Our trip there was absolutely magical.

Room Tip: we had an upgraded junior suite with a hot tub. it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Thanks for capturing the spirit of Hotel Punta Islita's signature experiences. We are thrilled to offer many opportunities to connect with the destination and Costa Rica's authentic sights, thrills, and culture. We believe that travel should be an engaging life milestone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We traveled around Costa Rica on our honeymoon and stayed at 3 different hotels. Punta Islita was our favorite. At the time that we were there, there were probably a total of 30 other people at the hotel. We saw the same guests every day and we really got to know people. Our dining room servers knew our names quickly and were so friendly. We had a casita with a very private patio, with hammock and plunge pool and even an ocean view. The room was a very good size and was very comfortable. We took advantage of the fun activities onsite also-zip-line, monkey hike, cocktail mixing class. The grounds are beautiful and there is a lot of wildlife everywhere-howler monkeys, macaws, even a koaty (which we had never heard of!)
Special recognition to our great wait staff, Margarita, Antonio and Joe who greeted us so warmly every day. Every meal we had was delicious.
Reception staff Errol and Christina were extremely helpful and always greeted us with big smiles.
Marvin checked on us from time to time and Jairo was an awesome tour leader!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0yvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Hotel Punta Islita is a special destination, perfect to prompt full engagement. Be it love, friendship, curiosity, and fun, our location maximizes experiences. We believe that travel should connect, engage, and soothe. Thanks for letting us know that we fully succeeded!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We traveled around Costa Rica staying at different houses and hotels, and were not expecting this to be the highlight of our trip. The hotel is beautiful, views are breathtaking, casitas are clean and comfortable, the staff is truly delightful, the pools are nice (I didn't get to enjoy the adult pool but it looks lovely!), the food is yummy, the spa was amazing, the macaws and monkeys everywhere were a treat...and if that wasn't enough for a great hotel experience, the range of activities offered were outstanding. Punta Islita created memories that will last a lifetime for my family. We will be back again for sure!

Room Tip: Get a casita with a plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gtrowbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thanks for embracing Costa Rica with such enthusiasm! We are delighted to have provided the highlight of your adventure. Our secluded location and intense connection to our cultural and natural surroundings sets us apart. And the incomparable views certainly stay with you. May you return very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed amazing views of surrounding jungle, scarlet macaws, monkeys, ocean, especially from hotel room and infinity pool. Solid activities included horseback riding, surfing, bird watching. Management was very customer-focused. Good mixture of US and international guests. Definitely worth a return visit.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Off the beaten path is exactly what makes us exactly like nothing else! Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience. Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Islita
32.4 km away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
11.4 km away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
874 reviews
30.2 km away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#2 of 24 in Nosara
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
930 reviews
8.8 km away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
162 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection

Address: Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Punta Islita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Price Range: $391 - $1,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Punta Islita is the only beach resort in Costa Rica to offer a full menu of complimentary tours, activities, and experiences. These include favorites like canopy zip-lining, horseback riding, monkey quests, and sea-turtle spotting. Plus unique experiences like creating art with local community artists, traditional cooking lessons, golf clinics, and more! Set in a secluded ocean cove in Guanacaste, Costa Rica. Its award-winning planet-friendly, people-positive model offers a unique opportunity to fully engage in intense eco-adventures and authentic cultural experiences. The property features Deluxe Rooms, Suites, and fully-outfitted Private Villas. Ideal for honeymoons, relaxation getaways, family vacations, extended stays, or destination weddings. COMPLIMENTARY SHUTTLE AVAILABLE FROM LIBERIA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT (LIR) PLEASE CONTACT US TO SCHEDULE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Islita Hotel
Resort Punta Islita
Hotel Punta Islita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing