We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,101)
Filter reviews
1,101 results
Traveller rating
836
187
44
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
836
187
44
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolcosta ricazip lininghorseback ridingbeach clubmain restaurantsan josepura vidaswim up barhowler monkeysliberia airportcevichegolf courserainy seasonremote locationhour drivethe pacific ocean
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 1,101 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We traveled around Costa Rica on our honeymoon and stayed at 3 different hotels. Punta Islita was our favorite. At the time that we were there, there were probably a total of 30 other people at the hotel. We saw the same guests every day and we really got to know people. Our dining room servers knew our names quickly and were so friendly. We had a casita with a very private patio, with hammock and plunge pool and even an ocean view. The room was a very good size and was very comfortable. We took advantage of the fun activities onsite also-zip-line, monkey hike, cocktail mixing class. The grounds are beautiful and there is a lot of wildlife everywhere-howler monkeys, macaws, even a koaty (which we had never heard of!)
Special recognition to our great wait staff, Margarita, Antonio and Joe who greeted us so warmly every day. Every meal we had was delicious.
Reception staff Errol and Christina were extremely helpful and always greeted us with big smiles.
Marvin checked on us from time to time and Jairo was an awesome tour leader!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0yvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Hotel Punta Islita is a special destination, perfect to prompt full engagement. Be it love, friendship, curiosity, and fun, our location maximizes experiences. We believe that travel should connect, engage, and soothe. Thanks for letting us know that we fully succeeded!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We traveled around Costa Rica staying at different houses and hotels, and were not expecting this to be the highlight of our trip. The hotel is beautiful, views are breathtaking, casitas are clean and comfortable, the staff is truly delightful, the pools are nice (I didn't get to enjoy the adult pool but it looks lovely!), the food is yummy, the spa was amazing, the macaws and monkeys everywhere were a treat...and if that wasn't enough for a great hotel experience, the range of activities offered were outstanding. Punta Islita created memories that will last a lifetime for my family. We will be back again for sure!

Room Tip: Get a casita with a plunge pool!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gtrowbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thanks for embracing Costa Rica with such enthusiasm! We are delighted to have provided the highlight of your adventure. Our secluded location and intense connection to our cultural and natural surroundings sets us apart. And the incomparable views certainly stay with you. May you return very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed amazing views of surrounding jungle, scarlet macaws, monkeys, ocean, especially from hotel room and infinity pool. Solid activities included horseback riding, surfing, bird watching. Management was very customer-focused. Good mixture of US and international guests. Definitely worth a return visit.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank MarcR3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Off the beaten path is exactly what makes us exactly like nothing else! Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience. Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The hotel is high on a hill overlooking a beautiful Pacific beach, perhaps 3/4 mile long and nearly empty - a few dozen people max any of the 5 Feb. days we were there.
Beach is a 10 minute walk - all downhill- serviced by a hotel on-demand shuttle (good for the 'up' return!
Rooms are decorated in local style, lots of color, nice decks, good bed, rather small. There are several types and I would recommend the ones higher up for the views and proximity to the hotel lobby, restaurant, bar and pool. Some rooms have plunge pools - our didn't and didn't miss it. Sitting on the deck looking into the surrounding hills and the Pacific was plenty.
The main hotel area is above or alongside the rooms, with a beautiful adults only pool and swim up bar adjacent to restaurant and sunning areas.
I can't speak too much about the beach area. It is long and wide and mostly empty, with a large tree shaded are before the beach. There is a pool and restaurant, pool is open to all ages. There are plenty of tables for eating and a dozen or so covered lounges (a fee). We sat on the beach one afternoon and watched a gorgeous red macaw devour nuts in a tree beside ue - 3 hours! Hotel arranged for dinner on the beach one night.
Diversions - Macaw conservation area a 5 minute drive away, Howler monkeys in the trees on-premise, zip-lining on the property, horse back riding on the beach
Negatives are few. There is a tiny town with one restaurant we didn't try (per others comments) and after a few nights the restaurant got boring. No ones fault, you are FAR from anywhere.
Not sure the distance but once off the highway it seemed about a 45minute scenic, often gravel and dirt road, drive to the hotel.
This is NOT a new hotel, just rebranded as an Autograph. Rooms well maintained but aging.
Want to get away and still be very comfortable this is the place

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DillyScarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Wild macaws feasting on beach almonds is truly mesmerizing! Their bright colors and lively antics are certainly a sight to hold. Thanks for capturing the essence of the Hotel Punta Islita experience. We are a place to connect with Costa Rica's authentic culture and intense nature. By engaging the traveler, we hope to achieve not only relaxation but mindful exploration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We stayed during the rainy season, August 24th -28th, and the rain really wasn't a problem. There were days when it didn't rain at all, and when it did rain, it didn't rain very long.

We celebrated my wife’s birthday while here. At dinner, they surprised us with a delicious cake. That made my wife’s day. We had great accommodations with an amazing view. The entire staff was very friendly. I would like to especially thank Marvin, Margarita, Randy, Edgar, Luis, Sergio, and Antonio for their extraordinary service. Thank you for the best vacation ever!!

Henry and Tamara Woods

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carter087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

To engage life, adventure, and friendship is to celebrate to the fullest! Thanks for letting us be a part of Tamara's birthday celebration. And thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews