We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
14
4
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
4
2
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2015

I am a very experienced traveller and at this moment I can’t recall another event as disappointing as this: the hotel cancelled our reservation 5 days before arrival and vigorously refused to return the payment until two weeks later when the local tourism and police authorities were just about to get involved. Meanwhile, unpleasant comments and communications were received, which obviously spoiled our holiday. It was really frustrating spending our precious vacation time dealing with this unpleasant and unfair situation! Make a safe choice, stay away!

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Barcha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIANTHE, Owner at Traditional Hotel Ianthe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2015

I think that this anonymous comment is not real.
1. I dont remember any gust from Barcelona to make reservation in our hotel.
2. The payment of any reservation must be paid after the arrival, not before.
3. If you had realy reservation in our hotel, please tell us your name.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2014

We booked a 2 bed apartment via Expedia, but were dispointed to have 2 bedrooms, not separted by a door, and you had to walk through the second "bedroom" to get either to the bathroom, or out of the apartment. Only air con unit in the main bedroom, so the other was a little warmer than we'd have liked. There was a mix up on arrival, as I had emailed to say we were travelling overnight and would like the room for 9.00am, but we had to wait until 11.00pm, but which time, I was very tired and grumpy, having been up 29 hours!!
Vessa is a traditional village with 2 small cafes, one of which has a very nice hostess, but very poor food, and the other one, well let's say she was less than welcoming, so we only had a drink, and didn't return. You will be about 30 minutes form the Crazy Chaos of Chios town, but well worth a visit. The nearest beach, about 8 km is sandy, so didn't suit us, as we like pebbled beaches, of which there are a lot. In general most beaches are unspoilt and deserted- plan for no facilities, and take your own refreshments and shade, and you will be fine. A small number will have canteens, but they are few and far between. Mesta, Pyrgi and Olympi are also medevil towms, well worth a visit. As will other Greek islands, the locals are generally friendly and welcoming. This is NOT a tourist destination and the island doesn't depend on tourism, this is reflected in the absence of the normall plastic tatt and vast number of eateries.
We tended to pack for the day and evening and go out for dinner on the way back from the beach, as to go back to Vessa and then set off to find a place to eat was too time consuming with our daugher needing to go to bed at a reasonable hour.
The accomadation was not really a hotel, more like a room within a house- there were 3 rooms upstairs and one accessed from outside the main house. Noise from other guests was an issue, as they didn't make allowances for people being in bed. Housekeeping was not a strong point of the property, we had to ask for new bedlinen and towels after 7 days!! There was little storage for our clothes also. The island is large, and probably best suited to multi location stays for a few days each, as it was a drag to come back each day. Gianis and Vasillies were pleasant and friendly, Gianis spoke english. There is another accomadation property next to Ianthe, called Petrino, run by Stella, who almost adopted our daughter.

Room tip: room 1 is a large airy double room- 2 balconies room 2 is a cramped 3 bed room/apartment- no outside space, except garden room 3 is a 4 bedder- with an upstairs and downstairs- balcony and roof terrace
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank madi1wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

amazing experience, very nice romantic atmosphere! i am not sure if the building itself is dated centuries back or just designed to reflect the style of an old village mansion, but they definitely managed good. you have to be aware that it's not in the seaside.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

It is a cute traditional hotel with a cozy decoration. Except the location, which is very quiet & calm, the hotel does offer a very poor breakfast with no traditional products. Also, the cleaning of the room was not the "strong" point of the hotel, very briefly and not often change of the pillow-covers. Unfortunately, the hotel does not offer basic amenities of a medieval mansion, except the decoration...

Room tip: What kind of breakfast is offered?
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amorgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Quiet cozy with people that treat you with hospitality and kindness.Had a very nice time and rested a lot

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 189400Oldboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews