We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
231
35
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
231
35
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house other guests family style breakfast great weekend west virginia the main house multiple rooms catch up with friends family weekend country breakfast game rooms breakfast is served nooks and crannies great hiking great hosts tour of the property each morning
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018

What an unforgettable escape! The hosts, Jesse and Gary, are simply unrivaled - so warm, welcoming, and happy to help on any front. It's evident that they pour themselves into the property and maintain the grounds beautifully. We stayed in the Hobson Cabin and it was perfect. Comfy bed, great sitting area, spacious and clean bathroom, nice porch for reading or watching the birds fly by. We loved the handy collapsible dog crate in the closet (select rooms are dog-friendly). The family style breakfasts were prepped from scratch and super delicious (omg the scones). It was so nice to meet other guests, all of whom were friendly and many have been returning for years - it's easy to see why. Cocktails and dinner were also top notch - the menu has something for everyone and the daily specials were fantastic (even the chicken was next level). While we planned to unplug (Verizon doesn't have coverage), there was strong wifi for moments of social media withdrawal (good luck resisting a selfie with Sancho, the adorable mini mule). Across three days, we took advantage of the many lounging, reading, relaxing nooks and also some great nearby strolls/hikes. We cannot wait to return - simply, this place is a total gem.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TootMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We spent a relaxing Easter at the Guesthouse!!!

We are returning customers for years. We stayed in the walk out lower room in the Hobson Cabin (previously Redbud Cottage)They did an amazing job with their renovation! In a word - Tasteful!.

Gary and Jesse are the consummate innkeepers. It feels like you are going to stay with good friends for the weekend.

The bar is a favorite place to lounge. Dakota, the bartender knows his craft. The restaurant menu offer a great range in items and with a very balanced wine list. Jesse's brother is a terrific chef and their waitresses Laura and Chiann provide excellent table service.

One tip would be to go when they are making donuts for Sunday morning, unless Jesse makes his blueberry scones.

Thanks for another wonderful weekend

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BillMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

We’ve been coming here for years and love it. Started with our honeymoon and now vacation with friends. Gary and Jesse go out of their way to make sure everyone has what they need. The food is delicious and the rooms are comfortable. The Guesthouse has so many different spaces for relaxing - whether you’re reading, playing games, talking, watching tv or whatever.

Room tip: Comfortable standard rooms. Several upgrade options including cottages.
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Amelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Another great weekend of relaxation at this charming and cozy get away. Room was very clean, wonderful hospitality, delicious food and the opportunity to meet other guests during the family style breakfast. The main guest social area is uniquely decorated and offers many settings for various options, pool table, games, outdoor seating, fireplace, cozying up with a book, etc...

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 0kilimanjar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

We thought this would be a nice weekend, but it quite exceeded our expectations. The lodge itself is bigger than we had anticipated with multiple rooms with fireplaces all decorated to be quite cozy and charming. A great place to lounge around and read a book, play the games they have out, or just take a nap. The bar is charming with incredibly nice staff, and the dinner we ate was quite good. There are also some quirky and charming things to do in and around Lost River if you do want to go out (we saw some interesting nearby caverns), but we anticipate in future visits we may just lounge - it's that charming a place.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank StephenT1662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews