We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hospitality made us feel very much at home"”
other travellers have booked this property
View of the Mansion as purchased, in 2002.  Since the 1950's it held five apts & needed renovation.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the Mansion as purchased, in 2002.  Since the 1950's it held five apts & needed renovation.
This is a 1930's view of the home, looking northwest to southeast, from Oak St. before guest entry. This is the earliest photo of the home, from about 1900, looking southeast to northwest.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
View of the Mansion as purchased, in 2002.  Since the 1950's it held five apts & needed renovation.
This is a 1930's view of the home, looking northwest to southeast, from Oak St. before guest entry.
This is the earliest photo of the home, from about 1900, looking southeast to northwest.
Main living room, looking into the main dining room; front stairway at left; view from front entry.
Seating and main dining room, looking into living room through French doors.
View of dining room from the French door entry in living room.
Bay window area of the living room now holds a circular breakfast or tea table for two.
Mid-century Kenmore kitchen complex with sink, refrigerator, and hot water pot for guest use.
The kitchenette is accessed just off of the 2nd floor common room that also holds a tv and seating.
View of 2nd floor common room, from the main hallway.
View into the Dora Powell suite from its entrance; includes comfortable seating and small library.
View into the Dora Powell Suite's bathroom; includes jetted tub with hand shower.
This is the Dora Powell Suite's sleeping alcove; computer/study desk, wi-fi, bathroom entry at left.
Dora Powell suite, view from the study desk across the sleeping alcove.
Rigby Suite, view of bathroom entry, wet bar, closet, and sleep-loveseat from the bed/entry area.
View of the Rigby Suite's sleeping couch and queen bed from the wetbar/bathroom entry.
View into the Rigby Suite's 7' jetted rain shower and bath.
This is the new front porch/entry completed in November 2014. 3d floor balcony to be done in spring!
Lovely seating on the wide front porch in all but the worst weather. View from east to west.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Spokane, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TexasTrav...
Colleyville, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality made us feel very much at home"”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The 1899 House is a bed and breakfast for those looking for a comfortable place to stay,with warm and welcoming hosts, but is not a fully refurbished turn of the century home, yet. The home in general is still a work in progress but the guest room where we stayed was completely redone and was very nice and pretty with everything we needed, including fresh flowers. The room is large enough to lounge in and the bed was very comfortable. You have your own access through some back stairs but are welcome to use the front stairs. The back stairs are rather steep. If you have to have a shower (rather than tub bath), you may be challenged by the shower head attached to the bathtub, but we made it work.

Gillian went out of her way to provide us with what we needed. We were new to the area so each day we found new magazines in the room that were very helpful in getting to know the area. Breakfast was always something new and I thought wonderful, although my husband would have preferred a more hearty breakfast. We got "snacks" to take on our journey each day which came in really handy.

We had a great time in the area and the 1899 House is very centrally located and made getting where we needed to go very easy. Couldn't ask for more accommodating hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oregon
Reviewed 21 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WA
Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;