We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Blue Heron Rooms and Glamping(Eastsound)(Great Value!)
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Tree Hostel(Eastsound)(Great Value!)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Harbor Inn(Deer Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Edenwild Boutique Inn(Lopez Island)(Great Value!)
US$271
US$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
182
10
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
182
10
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubwonderful hostsorganic ingredientsgoldfinch roomthree coursesorcas islandsitting roomother guestshummingbird feederseach morningfront porchan extra bedparadise on earthlocal airportensure privacyvery comfortable king bedthe common living room
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018

We travel a fair amount each year. We stay in a variety of locations (both domestic and foreign) and "hotels". We have not found anywhere as charming and enjoyable as the Kangaroo House in East Sound. What a glorious place! We stayed in the Northwest Flicker (a Pacific Northwest woodpecker) Suite. The "room" consisted of a bedroom, sitting room, and bath.

The room and house are craftsman design from the late 1800s or early 1900s. The property is magnificently maintained and stuffed with beautiful antique furnishings. The hosts are absolutely delightful and welcoming. They engage in conversation at the drop of a hat and are exceptionally patient with chatty guests (yea, just like me). The property includes a well maintained and secluded hot tub with hummingbirds and other Northwest birds serenading the serene setting of the house.
I won't ruin the surprise as to how the B & B got it's name, but it's one of many wonderful things you'll learn when you stay. By the way, the bed was a taste of heaven.

Breakfast is included and it starts "on island time" at 9am. No menu since the hosts are absolutely creative and competent chefs. Breakfast is a blend of fresh fruit, vegetables, and other island fare. I am not a real "foodie", but my wife is, and we both scarfed down every morsel each morning of our stay. Great coffee and tea, too!!

If you've never been to Orcas Island, the hosts are ready to help with recommendations for sightseeing, whale watching, outdoor activities, and dinner options in the area. After a full day out on the island's multitude of worthwhile secret adventures, there is not a comparable serene respite in the islands. You can even take a short walk to a public beach to see nature's glory, a San Juan Islands sunset.

A short note: my wife is allergic to wheat. The hosts accomodated this rather challenging allergy without a blink.

P.S. One of the hosts is a poet.....she might share one of her published works for you upon request. I can picture a winter's visit, seated around the huge stone fireplace in the main sitting room, listening to her great poetry. Want serenity? You might just consider coming to this place ANY time of year!!!

Room Tip: We chose the Northwest Flicker Suite, but they are all wonderful.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We fell under the spell of Orcas Island and Kangaroo House within minutes of our arrival. There is a warm accepting vibe there that reminded us of Scotland and Wales. The couple who run it love what they're doing and gave us the best breakfasts we've ever had, even accommodating my food allergy. Our room was beautiful and cozy and very comfortable with an updated bathroom. Our favorite thing to do each evening was to build a fire in the big wood-burning fireplace with our books and a bottle of wine. The cute little town of East Sound is right down the road. Being able to walk the mile into town for dinner was nice. A few places were closed for the slow season, but we ate very well at Aelder, and had pretty good meals at the Madrona, Doe Bay, and awesome roadside pizza oven. We highly recommend Orcas Island and the Kangaroo B&B.

Room Tip: The raised canopy bed in the Nuthatch room was quirky and fun! The suites were twice as big.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maggsbroag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

We greatly enjoyed our winter getaway stay at the Kangaroo House B&B. The Goldfinch room was comfortable and cozy, and the shared area included a great fireplace! Tea, hot chocolate, coffee, and water was regularly available. The breakfasts were gourmet and delicious, and the breakfast company provided by hosts Charles and Jill was very friendly and knowledgeable about Orcas Island. We won't hesitate to stay at the Kangaroo House again when we return to the island.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

This is my third stay at Kangaroo House. I live in a big, noisy city with too many people and terrible traffic.

I come to Orcas Island to find healing and calm. Kangaroo House is perfect for me as it is very quiet yet very conveniently located to charming Eastsound Village as well as any point on the island that I wish to visit and explore.

Charles and Jill are the perfect hosts. They are warm and welcoming and create a very relaxed atmosphere in their beautiful heritage home. It is a fascinating old house which is beautifully and tastefully decorated and filled with antiques.

It is a delight every morning to look forward to a beautifully set table in the cozy breakfast room, watch the activity at the bird feeders while awaiting breakfast. The hummingbird feeders are set very close to the windows and the little hummers come and perch for a long feed. It is such a treat to be able to be still and experience the wonder of these jewelled little birds so closely.

The breakfasts are very creative and consist of three courses. Charles and Jill are foodies and one is always in for a treat in presentation and taste. They very graciously accommodate any special dietary needs. Charles' special pancakes are amazing as well as Jill's creative 3rd course "dessert" creations. Yummy!!! I really appreciate their use of organic and fresh local ingredients.

The inn is very clean and has comfy beds. If you like extra space to spread out, I recommend the Stellers Jay Suite.

Another delightful, super restful stay and highly enjoyable conversations with Jill & Charles, when they come to join their guests during breakfast.

If you are a dog lover (as I am) do not miss the opportunity to meet their incredibly sweet, gentle and friendly dog, Campbell. He will steal your heart!

I would not stay anywhere else while on Orcas.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Bouviergirl1271985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

A trip to Orcas Island is always wonderful. The only way I know how to improve just being in the peace and tranquility of one of the most beautiful spots on Earth is to stay at Kangaroo House. We typically try to get to Orcas Island several times per year, and the first place we try to book is here. At this point we've probably stayed in every room and each one is unique but warm and pleasant. Charles and Jill are just the perfect hosts. They are always helpful and friendly and are a wealth of knowledge about the little known corners of the island, whether it is a new hiking trail or museum or store. We have certainly stayed at other B&Bs on Orcas Island over the years, and several are quite good, but Kangaroo House is our favorite. A word about the breakfast is also in order. Charles informs his cooking from the many places he's traveled and he always has wowed us with some new creative but always tasty meal. Some places excel in the accomodations and some with food and some with service. You will get all three at Kangaroo House.

Room Tip: Stellars Jay Room has a cozy seating area
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spartacus341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews