We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect get away”
other travellers have booked this property
Flower border surrounding the kitchen garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Flower border surrounding the kitchen garden
Bedroom with fireplace, ceiling fan and hand hewn cathedral ceiling Cottage front porch with swing and ceiling fan
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Flower border surrounding the kitchen garden
Bedroom with fireplace, ceiling fan and hand hewn cathedral ceiling
Cottage front porch with swing and ceiling fan
Bedroom sitting area with smart TV
Entrance to the property
View of the cottage with historic icehouse to the left.
Kitchen garden
Bath with shower
Living room with fireplace and window seat
Dock with floating platform to make it easy to get your kayak or canoe in and out of the river
The dock and osprey perch with the river frozen
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ware Neck, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matthew S
1 review
“Perfect get away”
Reviewed 13 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We rented this cottage for our honeymoon. It has a rustic charm that made us feel at home. This cottage is equipped with everything you could need. There are potential neighbors across the driveway as it is also a vacation rental. There were neighbors there during our stay, but we never met and were not bothered one bit. The owner of the property is delightful and also lives on this beautiful peace of land. We were to busy touring that we did not have a chance to use the kayaks, but even the life vests were provided. Thanks so much for the amazing stay! We truly enjoyed ourselves and would not hesitate to reserve again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2018
We were delighted that you picked our cottage for your honeymoon and so glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra059...
Oliver Springs, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect historic cottage on Ware River near Chesapeake Bay!”
Reviewed 20 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The historic cottage at Glebefield--it is amazing! Beautifully renovated yet so much of the authentic history of the old cottage has been preserved. Hand hewn beams, the old fireplace that at one time served as the home's place to cook that can be used by guests, the beautiful heart of pine floors--like stepping back in history, yet beautifully and comfortably decorated. There is a great room downstairs with plenty of seating for several plus a wonderful, sunny window seat for a private, sunny reading nook. Peg and John (the owners) thought of everything and even called during our stay to welcome us to use the kitchen garden and the dock--to make ourselves at home on the property. Near Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown. Don't miss going a mile or so down the road to visit Nuttall's General Store for clam chowder and hot sandwiches--and just to visit an old country General Store! We hope to visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2017
We loved hosting you all. We want our guests to take full advantage of everything that the property and community have to offer. Nuttalls Country Store is one of those things. Besides housing our post office and being on the historic registry, they serve up some great prepared foods. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwendlin
Edinburg, Virginia
2 reviews
“Very charming and relaxing!”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We very much enjoyed our stay at the cottage. The owner has thought of everything that one might need. The river is just a short walk down the road where one can crab or fish.
Excellent starting point to explore the area and take day trips to Williamsburg, Yorktown and
other landmarks. There is plenty to see and do.

Would return in a heartbeat!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2016
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We love it when others enjoy this slice of heaven as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia...
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This cottage is a perfect "getaway" spot!”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

If you are looking for a quiet, calm, scenic place away from the traffic and noise of the city, the cottage at Glebefield is ideal. It is a small two story historic cottage, which has been completely updated with a fully equipped kitchen, and is best suited for a couple. All amenities are provided so there is no need to bring anything other than your personal items. It is a short walk to the river where you can sit or fish out on the pier and is conveniently located just 5-10 minutes from Gloucester for dining, etc. The owner is very friendly and helpful. We hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the front porch under the ceiling fan.
Liked least: The picture on the website is of another building on the property. The actual cottage is pictured in one of the small pictures.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing