We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cabins in Virginia”
other travellers have booked this property
Pondview
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pondview
View of the pond and mountains Snow on the mountain top
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
Pondview
View of the pond and mountains
Snow on the mountain top
The living room with leather club furniture and 42 inch flat screen SAT TV
Kitchen
one of two bedrooms each with two double beds
One of two full bathrooms
Hill Top
Night time
Fire pit on the porch
Sunset
Looking through the windows of Pondview
Looking across the pond
Mountain View
Tent is available for events
Hanging out by the fire
Snow at the Cabins
Summer at the Cabins
Rose River Farm Rainbow
Native Brookie
Blue Gill in the pond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Syria, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Meredith...
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“Beautiful Cabins in Virginia”
Reviewed 25 December 2015 for a stay in August 2014

I loved the two times I stayed at the Rose River Cabins. My most recent trip was in August 2014 for my sister's wedding which took place on the property. My favorite part was enjoying the fire pit at night and cooking in the beautiful kitchen while my family and I relaxed and took in the beautiful view. Rose River Farm is a little piece of heaven. I am looking forward to coming back in January for a weekend hiking trip. White Oak Canyon and Old Rag are close by and are excellent hikes. Douglas Dear was extremely helpful with making my reservations at the cabins. Thank you to him for that and for his charming cabins.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Mr. Dear. I just wanted to drop a note concerning our recent trip. We spent 2 nights in your cabin and fished one day. This is our 3rd trip in the past 4 years. Everything/Everybody was fantastic. We look forward to coming each year. Thanks for all you do!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOMDFlyFi...
Hughesville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway, Fly Fishing and Star Gazing”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We went to Rose River Farm for some much needed relaxation and fly fishing. This was our second trip and we will definitely return again. Trout fishing was great, relaxing around the Yurt was perfect while viewing the night sky with a million stars! We both caught nice trout but My son landed a trophy Rainbow that would make Lefty just slightly jealous. :-) Reservations were very simple and accurate, Gary greeted us first thing in the morning at the trout stream, gave us a few good locations and even gave us a couple of his favorite Fly patterns to get us started. THANKS Gary! Earl kept us stocked with plenty of firewood and was very helpful! See you next year. Fun trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan E
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
“Picture Perfect October Wedding”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our daughter and son-in-law were married at Rose River Farm in October 2015. We rented the three yurts to accommodate immediate family members and the bride and groom. I cannot say enough good things about owner, Douglas Dear, or his foreman, Earl. Both were eager to assist us in everything from submitting paperwork to Madison County for inspection of a tent for the reception to recommending local businesses for wedding rental and catering services. The bridal couple also wanted to have a bonfire as part of the wedding reception. I was a bit skeptical about whether this would fly with the owner. To our delight, he said yes and even arranged for a fire pit to be dug. The owner, foreman, and cleaning crew were always helpful, friendly , and accommodating - and the venue beautiful. I highly recommend Rose River Farm for any family celebration.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful property and excellent service
Liked least: Beds were adequate, but not high quality
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
readhd59
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Relaxing in the mountains”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The Cabins at Rose River Farm are really a wonderful place to get away from it all. We stayed at the Hill Top Cabin. The weather was wonderful; the scenery was beautiful as usual in April. The cabins are still very comfortable and the amenities are still top notch. There are several vineyards nearby and on our visit, we had vouchers for tastings provided by the proprietors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing