We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dena M

Huge Disappointment! Stay in town!

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 May 2024via mobile
This hotel is a huge disappointment. Could be so much better. Hotel needs a complete renovation! We are in the Hopson Suite and it has stained carpet, stained chairs, very thin windows, no safety lock on the door that goes to the room next door. Shower water temperature cannot be balanced. Either too hot or too cold. Sink has cracks in it. No lotion provided or shower caps. Shuttle to town stops at 4:00 pm. So we have to pay for taxis to go to dinner.
No bottled water in the frig. Have to ask for it. Frig didn’t work so they replaced with one that was dirty.
Now what is good! The incredible view and the large amount of space!
I would not stay here again. Stay in town at one of the hotels that face the bay, Bayview is one is them that looks nice but there are literally 20 or more. You can walk everywhere and the wharf is right there.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Pick a hotel in town that faces the water! You will thank me!
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Aerial View
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $131
  • Hotels.com
0.0 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $123
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $153
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
Summer's Evening beside the Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $156
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $235
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
$317
No prepayment needed
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
1.3 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
Waterfront Suite
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $169
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance of Motel.Very close to Waterfront
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $107
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $169
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $195
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Waitangi
Reviews (1,454)
Filter reviews
1,454 results
Traveller rating
286
507
366
172
123
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
286
507
366
172
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful location the ground floor bay views paihia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,454 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2024

Beds are comfortable
But that’s about it . Unfortunately this landmark destination hotel is falling behind quickly . What used to be our favourite work staycation has become a disappointing Stay. Place is looking more and more run down, rooms are dated and dirty . Internet hardly works in the rooms , spa is often not working , staff don’t seem to care , waited till 240 to be able to check in and missed my online meeting not that I would have been able to do it as the internet keeps booting you off . Should have stayed at the spa resort in town .

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2024 via mobile

Restaurant- chef for morning buffet so rude. As a family with allergies I asked for something g not on the buffet. Scrambled eggs with no dairy. The buffet had very few options if you are GF/DF apart from highly processed options. Refused. We were one of two tables in the restaurant! Don’t bother coming here if you have allergies.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2024

Have been coming to the Waitangi Copthorne since 1980! With it having opened in 1963 aspects of it are certainly getting a bit tired but there's now an extensive renovation going on with scaffolding around much of the building. As always, the setting is magnificent. The staff are welcoming, courteous and efficient and the extensive buffet style breakfast & setting must be one of the best in NZ. The dinner menu and the one meal we had at the hotel was also very good. After a lapse of some years my wife and I agreed that we must make a point of going back at least once a year for a comfortable, relaxed and happily nostalgic weekend. Many thanks.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2024

Fridge and glasses not clean.. clean towels had stains. Hairs in bath, mirror not clean and cleanable marks on the ceiling... stayed two nights, room not adequately serviced .. over priced, even for an Easter weekend. Staff not overly helpful. Unlikely that we will stay again. As i am a housekeeper from a 4 star hotel this room was not acceptable and if I had left in it this state I would have been sent back by head housekeeper to rectify on the check off process before the customer checks in.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2024

We arrive late we got offer a free meal at the diner then when we went to check out we needed to pay for the meal... we spoke to the duty managers at the time that actually were rude inclusive the lady swore after speaking with my wife and started to demand payments.... I end up leaving and now I saw they overcharged my card extra dlrs from what we should pay ..... not good at all !!!
Plus the room we stay was disgusting

Room tip: Make sure to check that everything included is definitely for free otherwise you might get a surprise!
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews