We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ann B

A relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Feb 2024
A wonderful end to our holiday in New Zealand. Friendly, helpful staff, good food and beautiful grounds.
As has been mentioned in other reviews, Dimitri was a star, nothing was too much trouble. The staff at reception, bar and restaurant were also very helpful.
Many thanks for such a relaxing stay
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael du Toit, Guest Services / Front Office at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review
Responded 6 Mar 2024
Thank you for choosing Copthorne Bay of Islands for your New Zealand holiday finale! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff, delicious food, and the beauty of our grounds. Dimitri and the entire team appreciate your kind words. We hope to welcome you back for another relaxing stay soon.

Best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Aerial View
$131
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Algotels
    $117
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $133
  • Hotels.com
    $113
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
$176
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Location close to Waitangi Treaty Grounds and Ti Bay Beach
$217
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $217
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bay Sands Motel, Bay of Islands, NZ
$200
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    $195
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
Summer's Evening beside the Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $153
  • Hotels.com
    $139
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $261
  • Agoda.com
    $204
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
$195
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $182
  • Hotels.com
    $183
1.2 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
Waterfront Suite
$183
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $167
  • Hotels.com
    $188
1.3 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
$153
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
1.4 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Waitangi
Reviews (1,454)
Filter reviews
1,454 results
Traveller rating
286
507
366
172
123
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
286
507
366
172
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful location the ground floor bay views paihia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,454 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2024

This was an amazing resort with beautiful views (we had a waterview room). Staff were friendly and helpful which gave us a relaxed feeling during our stay. The resort style facilities were first class. Pool & spa area very relaxing. The buffet breakfast and evening meal was varied and delicious. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Travelwisetwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael du Toit, Guest Services / Front Office at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing experience at Copthorne Bay of Islands! It's fantastic that you enjoyed the beautiful views, friendly staff, and the relaxed atmosphere during your stay. We are glad you appreciated our first-class facilities, including the relaxing pool and spa area. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2024 via mobile

We got lucky - the Duty Manageress allowed us an upgrade as we weren't happy with our view looking over the parking lot/harbour. We ended up with a superior room with a spectacular view over the ocean. I can't recall her name, but she was also so friendly & helpful, by far the hotel's best asset.

But that's where the plaudits end unfortunately. Here's a summary to help others:-

1. Fantastic location, no doubt about that
2. It's tired & lacks style - the buildings look like an old military establishment
3. The pool area design makes the water look green & dingy - not attractive at all
4. Very few sun beds in grassy area
5. Housekeeping is dreadful - they didn't clean our loo, our carpet was left with crumbs, obviously untouched, the bin was left unemptied, a pillow stain was left with a dark stain which wasn't my wife's

Fortunately the view "saved our bacon" & as we were out exploring the stunning North Island, it didn't matter quite so much. That said, I don't know what we paid as it was through Trailfinders.

I wouldn't recommend, it's tired, lacks style & has serious cleanliness issues.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fairalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael du Toit, Guest Services / Front Office at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Copthorne Bay of Islands. We appreciate your feedback, both positive and negative, as it helps us identify areas for improvement and ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay.

We are delighted to hear that the Duty Manager was able to assist you with an upgrade to a room with a better view. Her dedication to guest satisfaction reflects the values we hold dear at our hotel.

We sincerely apologize that other aspects of your stay, such as the cleanliness of your room, the pool area, and the availability of sun loungers, did not meet your expectations. These shortcomings fall below our usual standards and we take your concerns very seriously. We have addressed these issues with the respective departments and are taking immediate corrective actions, including a thorough review of our procedures to prevent similar occurrences in the future.

We understand your hesitation to recommend our hotel at this time, and we hope that the actions we are taking demonstrate our commitment to providing a comfortable and enjoyable experience for all our guests. We continuously strive to improve and your feedback plays a vital role in that process.

Thank you for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2024 via mobile

Our travel agent had booked us into a dreadful hotel so we had no choice but to find alternative accommodation. Dimitri came to our rescue. This very helpful, enthusiastic and delightful French man was incredibly hospitable, helpful and honest. This man needs a promotion and is the best thing about the hotel. The room was ok, clean and comfortable. The breakfast ok too with plenty of choice. We have come to the conclusion there is an almighty gap between 4 and 5 star. Several areas of the hotel require just a little attention such as the windows looking out to sea, Hibiscus Wing on level 700. The most incredible view and the window is fully of cobwebs abd filthy dirty. A tray and plate etc left outside a room for over 24 hours! Housekeeping would have walked past it! Apart from Dimitri the staff appear a little lazy and some, unfriendly. This hotel needs a firm manager to shake it up.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sodie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael du Toit, Guest Services / Front Office at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you highlighting Dimitri's excellent service.

We apologize for the unclean windows and housekeeping oversight. These issues have been addressed immediately. We also appreciate your feedback on staff attentiveness and will use it for development.

We understand your concerns about the 4-star rating and are committed to improvement. Your feedback helps us bridge the gap.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2024

We are currently staying at this hotel and are very disappointed with our choice. The room is very dated and not clean. The full length mirror is covered in fingerprints and smudges, there was a long dark hair on the bathtub and there are about a dozen dead bugs in the glass globe on our ceiling light. The hallways have not been vacuumed in our 3 day stay, the laundry room is filthy and there are large cobwebs between the stairway spindles on the staircases in the hallways. During our 3 night stay we have had some towels that are white and fluffy and some that are dingy and thin. In our month long visit to New Zealand this is the dirtiest hotel that we have stayed at.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank M7494XSannef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael du Toit, Guest Services / Front Office at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you faced, and we are committed to addressing each concern to enhance the overall guest experience. Your observations are crucial in maintaining our standards, and we assure you that corrective measures will be implemented promptly. We value your insights and hope you will consider giving us another chance to exceed your expectations in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2024

We had a wonderful stay here, just one night unfortunately, a special for 4 people came up with a sea view room , breakfast included.
I booked the add on of an early check in at 12. One thing to note, this add on does seem to be something the company creates but the reception staff don't know about it. Best to phone ahead or get something in writing so the staff at the hotel know you are coming earlier than 2pm.
Other than that, in the end our room was ready shortly after 12, and we had a wonderful stay close to the pool and restaurant. Breakfast was great, weather spectacular and views beautiful. Everyone was helpful. Didn't need to go to Paihia.
But if you do, drive!
Tennis racket and balls avail at reception for a hit. Then cool off in the pool right up till late.
Room service dinner for an easy night with young kids, and the air con was new and not loud and cranky all night like some of the old ones at hotels!
Thanks for our break before school starts!

Room tip: The spa wasn't working, one of the many dilemmas at hotels it seems
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael du Toit, Guest Services / Front Office at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience during your one-night stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the special offer, sea view room, and inclusive breakfast. We appreciate your feedback on the early check-in add-on, and we will work on improving communication with our reception staff.

It is great to know that despite this, your room was ready shortly after 12, and you had a fantastic time by the pool and restaurant. We're thrilled you found the breakfast enjoyable and that our team was helpful throughout your stay. Your mention of the tennis amenities and room service dinner for a relaxed evening with young kids is appreciated.

We hope your break before the school starts was rejuvenating, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews