We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Fairalways
Notts

It's not just about the magnificent views

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Feb 2024via mobile
We got lucky - the Duty Manageress allowed us an upgrade as we weren't happy with our view looking over the parking lot/harbour. We ended up with a superior room with a spectacular view over the ocean. I can't recall her name, but she was also so friendly & helpful, by far the hotel's best asset.

But that's where the plaudits end unfortunately. Here's a summary to help others:-

1. Fantastic location, no doubt about that
2. It's tired & lacks style - the buildings look like an old military establishment
3. The pool area design makes the water look green & dingy - not attractive at all
4. Very few sun beds in grassy area
5. Housekeeping is dreadful - they didn't clean our loo, our carpet was left with crumbs, obviously untouched, the bin was left unemptied, a pillow stain was left with a dark stain which wasn't my wife's

Fortunately the view "saved our bacon" & as we were out exploring the stunning North Island, it didn't matter quite so much. That said, I don't know what we paid as it was through Trailfinders.

I wouldn't recommend, it's tired, lacks style & has serious cleanliness issues.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael du Toit, Guest Services / Front Office at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this review
Responded 6 Mar 2024
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Copthorne Bay of Islands. We appreciate your feedback, both positive and negative, as it helps us identify areas for improvement and ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay.

We are delighted to hear that the Duty Manager was able to assist you with an upgrade to a room with a better view. Her dedication to guest satisfaction reflects the values we hold dear at our hotel.

We sincerely apologize that other aspects of your stay, such as the cleanliness of your room, the pool area, and the availability of sun loungers, did not meet your expectations. These shortcomings fall below our usual standards and we take your concerns very seriously. We have addressed these issues with the respective departments and are taking immediate corrective actions, including a thorough review of our procedures to prevent similar occurrences in the future.

We understand your hesitation to recommend our hotel at this time, and we hope that the actions we are taking demonstrate our commitment to providing a comfortable and enjoyable experience for all our guests. We continuously strive to improve and your feedback plays a vital role in that process.

Thank you for your understanding.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Aerial View
$131
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.0 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free parking
Pool
$113
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.8 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Bay Sands Motel, Bay of Islands, NZ
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $186
  • Expedia.com
    $200
1.1 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
Summer's Evening beside the Pool
$141
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
$248
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • ZenHotels.com
    $186
  • Lol.travel
1.3 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
Waterfront Suite
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $188
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance of Motel.Very close to Waterfront
$121
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.4 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$145
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.4 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
$186
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $186
1.4 km from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Waitangi
Reviews (1,454)
Filter reviews
1,454 results
Traveller rating
286
507
366
172
123
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
286
507
366
172
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful location the ground floor bay views paihia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,454 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2024 via mobile

Our travel agent had booked us into a dreadful hotel so we had no choice but to find alternative accommodation. Dimitri came to our rescue. This very helpful, enthusiastic and delightful French man was incredibly hospitable, helpful and honest. This man needs a promotion and is the best thing about the hotel. The room was ok, clean and comfortable. The breakfast ok too with plenty of choice. We have come to the conclusion there is an almighty gap between 4 and 5 star. Several areas of the hotel require just a little attention such as the windows looking out to sea, Hibiscus Wing on level 700. The most incredible view and the window is fully of cobwebs abd filthy dirty. A tray and plate etc left outside a room for over 24 hours! Housekeeping would have walked past it! Apart from Dimitri the staff appear a little lazy and some, unfriendly. This hotel needs a firm manager to shake it up.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sodie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael du Toit, Guest Services / Front Office at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you highlighting Dimitri's excellent service.

We apologize for the unclean windows and housekeeping oversight. These issues have been addressed immediately. We also appreciate your feedback on staff attentiveness and will use it for development.

We understand your concerns about the 4-star rating and are committed to improvement. Your feedback helps us bridge the gap.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2024

We are currently staying at this hotel and are very disappointed with our choice. The room is very dated and not clean. The full length mirror is covered in fingerprints and smudges, there was a long dark hair on the bathtub and there are about a dozen dead bugs in the glass globe on our ceiling light. The hallways have not been vacuumed in our 3 day stay, the laundry room is filthy and there are large cobwebs between the stairway spindles on the staircases in the hallways. During our 3 night stay we have had some towels that are white and fluffy and some that are dingy and thin. In our month long visit to New Zealand this is the dirtiest hotel that we have stayed at.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank M7494XSannef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael du Toit, Guest Services / Front Office at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you faced, and we are committed to addressing each concern to enhance the overall guest experience. Your observations are crucial in maintaining our standards, and we assure you that corrective measures will be implemented promptly. We value your insights and hope you will consider giving us another chance to exceed your expectations in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2024

We had a wonderful stay here, just one night unfortunately, a special for 4 people came up with a sea view room , breakfast included.
I booked the add on of an early check in at 12. One thing to note, this add on does seem to be something the company creates but the reception staff don't know about it. Best to phone ahead or get something in writing so the staff at the hotel know you are coming earlier than 2pm.
Other than that, in the end our room was ready shortly after 12, and we had a wonderful stay close to the pool and restaurant. Breakfast was great, weather spectacular and views beautiful. Everyone was helpful. Didn't need to go to Paihia.
But if you do, drive!
Tennis racket and balls avail at reception for a hit. Then cool off in the pool right up till late.
Room service dinner for an easy night with young kids, and the air con was new and not loud and cranky all night like some of the old ones at hotels!
Thanks for our break before school starts!

Room tip: The spa wasn't working, one of the many dilemmas at hotels it seems
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael du Toit, Guest Services / Front Office at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience during your one-night stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the special offer, sea view room, and inclusive breakfast. We appreciate your feedback on the early check-in add-on, and we will work on improving communication with our reception staff.

It is great to know that despite this, your room was ready shortly after 12, and you had a fantastic time by the pool and restaurant. We're thrilled you found the breakfast enjoyable and that our team was helpful throughout your stay. Your mention of the tennis amenities and room service dinner for a relaxed evening with young kids is appreciated.

We hope your break before the school starts was rejuvenating, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2024

Well, I am between a 3 and a 4 star. There were two things that kept me from giving a 4 star. Check in was horrible. Young, Asian girl with mid length straight black hair (I am so sorry I did not catch her name) had no time for us at all. No greeting, no information about property and frustrated when we asked a second time for confirmation of directions to room. Wam, bam, thank you mam scenario. What's your name, here's your keys, thats where you go. We just kind of scuffled off to our room, which we struggled to find, feeling a bit unwanted. :( Opened the door to our room and the stuffy, warm, musty, moldy smell hit us in the face. Yuck. Cranked the air conditioner and fortuneatly that kept the smell at bay for the rest of the stay. Room size and condition is VERY overpriced!!!! (Superior Seaview Room Category) But balcony and view are wonderful! OK, so the rest of the stay was very pleasant. Next day hubby went to front desk to get wifi. Staff were very nice and aplogized for their co worker. Apparently this is an on going problem with her. Gave us a sheet of paper with all the information we needed for a successful stay. Restaurant staff all amazing, buffet had good variety for both dinner and breakfast, along with a set menu to chose from. Food was very good. Great location, however, I did read some reviews that talked about 10 minute walk to town. Maybe if you are a sprinter. For a fast paced walk you could maybe make it to mid town where the shops and restaurants are in 25 minutes. Maybe. We drove into town and struggled with the parking issues but made it work. Overall, happy enough, but would have been happier if they hadn't charged so much for the room.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tammyhZ8425UQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael du Toit, Guest Services / Front Office at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We genuinely appreciate your honesty and want to apologize for the less-than-ideal aspects of your stay. We are sorry to hear about the check-in experience, and we will address this issue with our staff to ensure a more welcoming and informative process for our guests.

We regret any inconvenience caused by the initial room conditions, and we are glad the air conditioning helped alleviate the smell during your stay. Your observations on room pricing have been noted, and we'll review our pricing structure to ensure fair value for our guests.

It is heartening to hear positive feedback about our restaurant and buffet offerings, as well as the friendly assistance you received from our staff during your stay. We understand the importance of effective communication and will strive to improve in this aspect.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to better meet your expectations in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2024

A very expensive price for a below average room
Pros: comfortable bed, great location, friendly staff
Cons: upwards of $230 NZD for a basic, outdated room, empty body wash bottle just doesn’t add up
Add additional costs of pool fee
Buffet breakfast cost of $35. A cafe meal and coffee wouldn’t cost this much for 1pp
A pricey night to not be satisfied

Room tip: Go elsewhere
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mobile26984240445
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael du Toit, Guest Services / Front Office at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your positive comments on the comfortable bed, great location, and friendly staff. We understand your concerns about room pricing and additional fees. Your insights are valuable, and we apologize for any disappointment and hope to have the chance to enhance your experience in the future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews