We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
24
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews general store car ferry short drive landing essentials fishing apartment property paihia bay views
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Rented the lower floor of this 2 apartment holiday home - very well appointed with high quality kitchen and very well furnished. Location was unique - right next to a ferry that operated until 10:00pm each night and while noisy we found we got used to it very quickly. Deck was great - we fished with equipment provided and caught a few fish straight outside the door to the apartment - fantastic! BBQ on the deck was great and it is clear that the owner takes pride in the place. The store across the road was also great - bought cappuccinos each morning to drink while reading the paper. The walk to Paihia along the coast was terrific helped by great weather. Our concern with the place was with the noise from the people in the apartment above. There is very little sound insulation between the floors and depending on who was staying there it became a little annoying. At one stage it sounded as though they were rearranging the apartment (at about 10:30pm). Was overall a good experience but would also probably not go back unless we knew the people in the top apartment!

Room tip: Lower floor was large and well equipped - but be prepared for the noise from the floor above
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z4393DEbrianr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Our stay at the Boathouse was absolute heaven. Although it's located right next to the ferry, we were never disturbed by noise or commotion. Our ground-level apartment was well-maintained and tastefully decorated, with everything anyone could need: a spacious living-dining area with flat-screen TV, fully-equipped gourmet kitchen, huge bathroom, and two bedrooms. We enjoyed sitting out on the deck, drinking wine, and watching the boats go by and had to force ourselves to leave on daily excursions.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank camilledul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

From the moment we walked in we were blown away by the view and the quality of the apartment. High quality fixtures and fittings and hosts that make sure you have a great time. Even caught a few fish off the deck!!! Dont want to leave. Fantastic place.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

We were part of a large group of friends who rented this property for 2 weeks. People came for 2 or 3 days to spend time with very special mates. It was fantastic! Although wet we found plenty to do within walking distance. The servicing of the Apartment was outstanding. It would suit from toddlers to elderly as long as you can keep am eye on the water but its safe! The only thing that would really make it for winter retreats is a would be a spa pool. Great cafes close by and the ferry gives you lots of action!
2 rooms are large and roomy the other 2 are too tight really but comfy bedz.

Room tip: upstairs and down. Watch the online video. The southern rooms look out on the ferry. Northern are quieter.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 322bridgetp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2014

We were very impressed with the quality and location of the Boathouse. We stayed in the upper level apartment, aptly named 'the Bridge'. We had wanted to book the apartment on the ground floor known as 'the Landing' (basically because of their photo of fishing over the side of the deck) but as it was already taken we booked the Bridge. I am so glad we did as once we were there and could see the layout properly the Bridge seemed to us to be the best option for both privacy and the views ...and we wouldn't have done any fishing anyway!
It was very spacious and well appointed with everything we needed. If we had realised how easy it was to access other towns in the area from the Boathouse we would have made it our base for our entire stay rather than moving to other accommodations that were all a disappointment after staying at the Boathouse. Next time we would spend our entire stay at the Boathouse for our Bay of Islands holiday.

Room tip: I recommend the top apartment. If we had stayed in the Landing apartment downstairs I think we would have been more aware of the ferry next door as it is almost at eye level with the front of that apartment, so I think privacy may be compromised.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews