We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
24
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews general store car ferry short drive landing essentials fishing apartment property paihia bay views
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2014

We were very impressed with the quality and location of the Boathouse. We stayed in the upper level apartment, aptly named 'the Bridge'. We had wanted to book the apartment on the ground floor known as 'the Landing' (basically because of their photo of fishing over the side of the deck) but as it was already taken we booked the Bridge. I am so glad we did as once we were there and could see the layout properly the Bridge seemed to us to be the best option for both privacy and the views ...and we wouldn't have done any fishing anyway!
It was very spacious and well appointed with everything we needed. If we had realised how easy it was to access other towns in the area from the Boathouse we would have made it our base for our entire stay rather than moving to other accommodations that were all a disappointment after staying at the Boathouse. Next time we would spend our entire stay at the Boathouse for our Bay of Islands holiday.

Room tip: I recommend the top apartment. If we had stayed in the Landing apartment downstairs I think we would have been more aware of the ferry next door as it is almost at eye level with the front of that apartment, so I think privacy may be compromised.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Stayed in 'The Landing' for 2 nights late October. This has got to be the best place we have ever stayed in and we have been fortunate enough to have stayed in many lovely places.
It is incredibly spacious, from the massive bathroom to the kitchen, to the wrap around balcony and main bedroom. There are beautiful views from every window, just sitting on the front balcony overlooking the bay was so relaxing and mellow. Even when it rained it was exciting because of the expanse of sky that you see.
The kitchen has every bit of equipment that you could possibly need, it is as though you are at home, forget only having the absolute basics.
The bathroom had plenty of towels and amenities, we used the laundry as well. Everything about this property screams generous.
The Boathouse is situated next to the car ferry to Russell. It pulls in about every 10 mins depending on the time of day, we thoroughly enjoyed watching the passing parade from the ferry. There is a small shop just 2 mins walks away that provides some very good basic groceries and some gourmet ones, plus they sell alcohol.
It is a short drive into Paihia is a short drive and there are a large assortment of restaurants there if you don't want to cook for yourself.
Russell is just a 10 minute trip on the car ferry and then a 10 minute drive further on and there are several restaurants there as well. The car ferry stops running around 10pm.
I highly recommend the Boathouse and was exceedingly disappointed that we had to leave so soon.

Room tip: Either of the two apartments will give you a great stay
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Angelbabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2014

Clean comfortable and modern. The apartments have everything a family would need and are a great base for exploring the area. The ferry is literally right next to the building and would get annoying from a privacy perspective if one stayed for a long period. For a couple of days it was no issue and is not really too noisy. All in all good value and a great place.

Date of stay: September 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Travelheapsoftimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2014

This is a gorgeous, bright, airy, welcoming apartment, sitting over the water. The kitchen is very well appointed but if you don't feel like cooking for yourself, at the General Store, two minutes walk away, you can get takeaway pizza and a good cup of coffee. Opua is quieter than some other towns in the Bay of Islands but it is a beautiful, peaceful base for exploring the region.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MarlzL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

What a terrific place, lovingly cared for and top notch. Right next to the Russel Ferry but quiet -- center of the action but peaceful at the same time.Away from the bigger tourist area of Pahia yet only a 5 minute drive away. Excellent accommodation with beautiful kitchen and bathroom with heated floors. Plenty of heaters to keep warm in winter. The owners are very patient and helpful.

Room tip: Downstairs unit The Landing (street level) is a straight walk from car through neat boathouse door way foyer into separate apartment.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valerie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews