We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect family adventure holiday and great customer orientated service

We absolutely loved our 3 day course with Josh, a very experienced sailor who taught us so much in... read more

Reviewed 18 June 2022
ClareHarvFam
,
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Perfect Family Getaway!

We did the 6 day ‘learn to sail’ package as a family (me, wife & 2 daughters aged 7 & 10) on board... read more

Reviewed 6 May 2022
Dan_Waterston
,
Nanyuki, Kenya
Read all 198 reviews
  
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
184
11
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
184
11
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sailing experience beautiful bay of islands day adventure patient instructor bareboat charter fabulous days great boat short space of time mid winter high seas great company give advice new zealand these guys bird life bucket list perfect weather
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2022 via mobile

This course is amazing! To go from 0 to sailing yourselves in 3 days is phenomenal. It’s intense and can seem overwhelming if you haven’t had any sailing experience but it does all come together…trust me! Highly recommend. Julie and Bill
and the team are so friendly and welcoming. We had Josh instruct us, Josh is a very practical guy with a wealth of knowledge. If your considering learning to sail ….come with this company. Simply the best!

Date of experience: February 2022
Thank whangajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GreatEscapeSailing, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2022

Thank you so much for taking time to write us a review and for your positive recommendation, it is very much appreciated.
We work really hard to create a great learning experience and enable sailing newbies to undertake a new adventure and yes sometimes it is a bit intense, but we are so proud of each of our sailors when they come back successfully from their maiden voyage. So congratulations to you again.
We'd love to have you back sailing with us and look forward to welcoming you aboard again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2022

Fabulous 2 days with a very patient instructor (thank you Martin). We learnt so much and enjoyed every minute.
Highly recommend this experience, it was a birthday present for my hubby, we made some great memories and hope to sail again in the future.
"We did something new New Zealand"

Date of experience: February 2022
Thank HayleyYorke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GreatEscapeSailing, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and for "doing something new New Zealand :-)".
We really appreciate your positive comments and that you choose to come and sail with us.
We look forward to welcoming you aboard again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2022

Great Escapes was a perfect holiday. The Raven was just what we needed. My boys (4 and 7) swam off the back and my wife was really pleased with how safe, clean and organised everything was. Julie and Bill do such a great job. The Bay of Islands is a beautiful place, as far as we are concerned this is the only way to truly witness it.

Date of experience: January 2022
Thank NZMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GreatEscapeSailing, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2022

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we really appreciate your positive comments.
We're glad you had such a lovely sailing holiday in our beautiful Bay of Islands and that you all enjoyed being aboard one of our Ravens.
We hope to be able to welcome you back aboard again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2022 via mobile

We just completed half of our 6 day learn to sail experience with Great escape (second half was weather disrupted) and had an incredible time. Great boat, Nolex 30 plus very knowledgeable and patient instructor which led to many laughs, smiles and learning. Our 2 teenage sons came away with a lot of experience and are keen as anything to be back! Looking forward to the next trip.

Date of experience: January 2022
Thank deardougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GreatEscapeSailing, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2022

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us and your positive rating and comments, it is very much appreciated.
We're glad you had a good time for the part of your sailing adventure you were able to complete and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon to complete your adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2022

Fantastic experience. A great way to transition from regular keelboat crewing to introductory helming. Would highly recommend this company and their product! Thanks Julie

Date of experience: January 2022
Thank Nick5432110
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GreatEscapeSailing, Owner at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2022

Thank you so much for your positive review and recommendation, it is very much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back aboard again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews