We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
58
10
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
10
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sculpture park sub tropical the cottages on site restaurant unusual plants stone house an award winning restaurant an abundance little piece of paradise wonderful place garden setting stayed nights thank you so much comfy bed friendly hosts tania sculptures
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Firstly I must stress that we are not used to 5 star luxury. On the positive side the location of the accommodation is reasonably close to Kerikeri. The grounds are pretty but that's where it stops. The cottage we stayed in was damp and smelt musty. The giveaway was the de humidifier in the cottage as well as the smell. We found dead flies and spiders in corners of the property so cleaning is an issue. The carpets and soft furnishings are worn and shabby. Bedroom a good size but no wardrobe. Just a coat stand in lounge! Like a previous reviewer said we were glad to get back to civilisation. Sadly the owners interest seems to lie in their on site gallery. It's a pity as it's all a great concept but needs some serious investment on upgrading to an acceptable standard. Not to be recommended. NZ accommodation can be basic but this falls too short of acceptable

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BillyF1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazNz, Manager at Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hi Billy
On reflection of your hurtful and potentially harmful pleas to others to “don't stay here” my question is “Why did you?” You did not mention anything at the time to us. We would have tried to rectify any issues and if you were still not satisfied you could have left making way for happy guests.
We had record breaking wet and humid weather for 4 months (95-100% humidity!) making it very uncomfortable for everyone. Fans and dehumidifiers were purchased to try and make things more comfortable. Did you use them?Thankfully Autumn has been lovely.
The cottages are all a bit different- 3 cottages have full wardrobes and 1 has a manrobe and the one you must have been in with the chest of drawers (in the bedroom) and a coat rack. No one has mentioned an issue before.
Fortunately you are only one person of the hundreds who come through every year. I know we have great place as the majority of people tell me, write great reviews and come back again. We do our best to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible.
We are looking forward to our yearly winters revamp with the addition of new aircon units.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Unlike its excellent restaurant, this hotel suffers from being quirky and needs more refinement to draw at the top of the market. It is quiet and friendly, but comes off as tired, undermaintained, and underserved. The cottage we occupied was comfortable, if spartan. The WiFi is totally inadequate, unreliable, and slow when it appears; half my devices wouldn’t connect at all. The art trail continues the “slightly off” feel.

Three days here has us looking forward to rejoining civilization.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Arden O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazNz, Manager at Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi Arden O
If the WiFi isn't working (and it not a problem that is outside our gate) it takes less than 30 sec to reboot the system if we are told about it. We sometimes suffer from being a small town in NZ and it is frustrating but soon the change is coming. As I am writing this Chorus are digging up the roads of Kerikeri to bring us ultra fast fibre connections.
Regarding our "quirkiness" I think our difference is a positive and it is who we are. We are not looking to draw the top end of the market. We live here and enjoy real people who are open to new experiences and learning. The sculptures and gardens all change throughout the year. We don't expect people to enjoy all the works but hopefully one or two might make someone consider something slightly differently. If the artworks are too challenging for some hopefully they might enjoy the gardens more.
We are looking forward to our winter revamp.
"Civilization" is just 1km away to Kerikeri township though maybe you are thinking of somewhere larger?
Glad the cottage was comfortable for you, though it would be interesting to know what was meant by "spartan".
Hope you find what you are looking for next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

10 of us stayed in the 5 chalets, so we had the place ourselves, but could easily contact Tania or her Mum if needed (we didn't) The chalets are really well set up, comfortable and quite spacious with everything you could need right down to the umbrellas and plug in mozzie repellers, as there's lots of lovely gardens and bush around, so you will get these little pests, but we had the windows open all night and never had a problem. We stayed 2 nights and went around the sculpture park also, and while we really liked some pieces not so much others, but that's what art is about.
(free to chalet guests) Tania and her Mum were lovely people to meet, highly recommended if you are staying in KeriKeri

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely cabin in secluded gardens. The furnishings are very 'kiwi Bach' style, huge bed and bathroom. A bit difficult to find at night but Tania gave excellent directions and provided lighting all the way. The restaurant on site is awesome as well.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LAURASANDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

This cafe is a hidden gem, it is in a fantastic location and the food is amazing.
Bread with dips - was so tasty, the beetroot dip was amazing as was the hallomi/ orange and beetroot salad.
The main of pasta, tomatoes and basil pesto was the best- massive portion.
We went back the following day for desert! which was just as good.
Excellent food and service would highly recommend

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wigorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews