We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Chang Siam Thai Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 46 Restaurants in Kerikeri
Price range: $7 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Chang Siam Thai Restaurant is set in beautiful countryside in Kerikeri and is just a few minutes walk from the 'world famous in Kerikeri' Rainbow Falls. The chefs blend authentic Thai flavours to create sensational dishes and offer a “chef’s special” menu, which is immensely popular. There is an extensive vegetarian section and also Thai dishes for young adults. The extensive wine list is professionally matched to Thai food and is competitively priced. Lunches, takeaway and dinners available every day except Tuesday. Service is a top priority for the whole team and the restaurant has already become widely known for both its outstanding food and attentive (but not intrusive) staff. The whole atmosphere is enhanced by a pleasant décor.
Reviewed 9 February 2020

My family and I have dined at Chang Siam and had takeaway meals on many occasions. Their food is consistently delicious and the staff are always super friendly. Chang Siam is definitely one of our favourite places in Kerikeri to eat.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank deb s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2020 via mobile

I can't fault the staff or the beautiful gardens and the balcony to eat on. In winter the inside would be cosy too I'd say.
The wait staff were enthusiastic and helpful, the food was brought out quickly.

The starters were very nice, especially the prawns and the salt/pepper squid but the main dishes were a little bland and the rice was not light and fluffy, perhaps a little too stodgy for my liking. I'd prefer fresh rice in a pot for the table that could be topped up by the wait-staff. The salad/vegetables presentation on the dishes was very nice.
My issue is with the freshness of preparation in the rice and some of the dishes we had. That's it's only short fall in my opinion

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank HENK V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2020 via mobile

We had take away a this time, but last vist we ate in. Service was awesome...such a rarity these days. And the food was exceptional good. Serving size was more than average and we were impressed with the quality of the dishes. So many new dishes to try, will be back for more. Thank you, keep up the great work.

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank Jen71nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2020 via mobile

We couldn’t fault this place. Went for dinner and received great service, tasty generous sized meals, and they could cater for the various dietary requirements of our family members. The Tom Kha soup was top notch, the gluten free salt and pepper squid had to be tried to be believed - the best any of us had eaten, and we loved the gluten free prawn crackers with the tastiest satay sauce. They should bottle that sauce and sell it - we checked their shelves on the way out! And they were just the starters!! Great experience - we’ll definitely be back.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2019

Nice ambience, located near Rainbow Falls and fairly near The Stone Stall, friendly staff, popular among locals (it was quite packed on a Thursday evening), does takeaways too, huge portions, tasty food.
Drawbacks : a little less salt would be better
Their tom yum is excellent!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank irene chan ai l... c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Chang Siam Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Chang Siam Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.