We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
15
16
11
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
16
11
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews motel units bbq area convenient location three nights town centre free wifi sinks river campervan powered supermarket accommodation walks paihia nz
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Met by friendly and very welcoming staff on the front desk, especially the (older) Lady. Made me feel at home. The camping area is one of the more beautiful ones I’ve stayed at whilst tramping around NZ; overlooking a quiet stream and small wooded area, no other buildings/ signs of the town around you, quiet at night and able to see the stars well which I didn’t expect in a built up area. Facilities were spotless, plenty of kitchen space and warm showers. Would of given 5* if the WiFi was free.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Edd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

We decided to stay here at short notice due to changed plans. The booking process by phone and the quality of welcome at reception were both excellent. There are powered and non powered sites here -.as well as various cabins. Kitchen is clean and tidy. Bathrooms are clean and tidy if somewhat dated but there are free showers and plenty of hot water. The grounds are terraced, with reception and the entrance at the top and then cabins, powered sites down the hill with the non powered sites at the bottom. There is a causeway across the stream at the bottom of the camping ground which leads to bush walks. Overall we were impressed. Facilities good, service excellent, position also good - 10 minutes walk to the town centre, 5 mins to countdown supermarket, BP gas station at the top of the road.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank frankiethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Great place to stay as a base for the surrounding areas. We had booked for three nights initially. Walking distance to town, shops, petrol stations etc.
We were in a campervan and the grounds are lovely with plenty of greenery and near to a river. Plenty of space between vehicles
Various kinds of accommodation here to suit everyone. Kitchens and toilets were spotless.
The staff were brilliant and would like to say a huge thank you to you all for your help when our campervan broke down after the first night. As we couldn't use the van we were stuck. Reception arranged for us to be picked up to go to Paihia and dropped us at Kerikeri airport one day. As we had to cancel a trip to the Cape they rearranged this on our behalf with another company. As we had to stay additional night they were very accommodating. Throughout our travels in NZ, we would say the staff were the best we met.
Highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

we had dirty plates a frying pan covered in fat, we had no tea towel or hand towel and bath mat. we had to pay for Wi-Fi. when we arrived the room was not cleaned properly. when we advised owners all they said it was a new cleaner and offered $10 internet.it was disappointing. the lighting in the room was not good enough to read. the camp grounds were tidy overall. the office hours were poor.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevinngaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

This was pretty expensive considering what you get. It's clean but loos didn't flush well, you have to pay for WiFi, no sky TV and you get charged $35 if you don't do dishes! Not what you expect when you pay for a motel.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank AbbeyC120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews