We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch and movie with friends”
Review of Cafe Cinema

Cafe Cinema
Ranked #12 of 50 Restaurants in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Cuisines: Swedish, International, New Zealand, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: "IT'S YOUR PLACE" ...That's what we like to say, so welcome to our place which is also your place. We enjoy the company of our local clientele who have become regulars at the restaurant and created a great community with whom we share our lives every day. It's the 'local' place to hang out for coffee and chats and a great place for meals all day. Our chefs are passionate about fresh food, prepared beautifully and served with style. We are committed to healthy and delicious food that satisfies all tastes, so whether it's our famously tender and tasty calamari, or our weekly fish dish specials, or a vegetarian delight, a hearty steak, or a divine dessert, we'll have something just for you. Our commitment to sustainability and environmental awareness is important to us, and we serve free range chicken, pork and eggs. We recycle everything we can from bottle tops (Kidney Kids Foundation fundraisers), to food waste (pigs, and compost). Our community,our tamariki (children) and the wider whanau (family) mean everything, and we support our local charities and services wherever and however, we can to support our community. So...Welcome...To your place.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place to enjoy a drink, meal and movie. Staff were attentive, food was lovely as always and look forward to returning again soon.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hey, thanks Lyn! Fab review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2018

We were looking forward to dining here , and having a nice meal after our movie. Friends had given us a voucher for meals.
We had the calamari entree which although tasty , had very little calamari , compared to the chicken entree which was generous.
We ordered the cheesecake for dessert which was very rich , the gelatine topping spoilt the dessert.
When we went to pay and handed over our voucher the staff member stated that THIS voucher had already been redeemed., it hadn't of course , a staff error, but still let us with a sour taste in our mouth, especially to be told ....I will take your word for it!
A lack of ambience, no music or soft lighting, we wont be back.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank misfortune2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Oh, this is sooooo disappointing. We are extremely sorry for your bad experience. We've passed this onto our team, and are attempting to get to the bottom of why the meal was not not superb. Our calamari dish is world famous, so to hear it was less than perfect is very upsetting. Music and soft lighting should be a given. Bad news all around.
Again, we can only apologise and make sure our team are aware of the importance of getting it right every time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Clean and comfortable cinema, has several films screening daily.
Reasonable cost especially for the loyalty card if you see several films. Limited range of eats at the counter on the way in, good coffee at Cafe next door. Centrally situated, easy parking opposite.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank gillian490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thanks for the Coffee shout out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

A good selection of lunch & brunch menu at reasonable prices. My husband had a boeuf bourguinon pie with chips and I had a tuna wrap. A side of chips went down well. They were all very tasty and delicious. Staff was friendly and service with a smile. This is one of our favourite local cafe. Would recommend it.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

AWWW, thanks for that!
Sorry about the late response. Somehow we missed a bunch of reviews =/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

We came here for a mothers day lunch. The service was very friendly, the coffee was yum and the menu selection was great. We will defiantly be back!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Justen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Awesome! That's just lovely to hear.
Sorry for the delay in responding-we missed a whole bunch of reviews somehow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Cinema also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Cafe Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing