We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good selection of mainstream films”
Review of Cafe Cinema

Cafe Cinema
Ranked #12 of 50 Restaurants in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Cuisines: Swedish, International, New Zealand, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: "IT'S YOUR PLACE" ...That's what we like to say, so welcome to our place which is also your place. We enjoy the company of our local clientele who have become regulars at the restaurant and created a great community with whom we share our lives every day. It's the 'local' place to hang out for coffee and chats and a great place for meals all day. Our chefs are passionate about fresh food, prepared beautifully and served with style. We are committed to healthy and delicious food that satisfies all tastes, so whether it's our famously tender and tasty calamari, or our weekly fish dish specials, or a vegetarian delight, a hearty steak, or a divine dessert, we'll have something just for you. Our commitment to sustainability and environmental awareness is important to us, and we serve free range chicken, pork and eggs. We recycle everything we can from bottle tops (Kidney Kids Foundation fundraisers), to food waste (pigs, and compost). Our community,our tamariki (children) and the wider whanau (family) mean everything, and we support our local charities and services wherever and however, we can to support our community. So...Welcome...To your place.
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Clean and comfortable cinema, has several films screening daily.
Reasonable cost especially for the loyalty card if you see several films. Limited range of eats at the counter on the way in, good coffee at Cafe next door. Centrally situated, easy parking opposite.

Thank gillian490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thanks for the Coffee shout out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2018

A good selection of lunch & brunch menu at reasonable prices. My husband had a boeuf bourguinon pie with chips and I had a tuna wrap. A side of chips went down well. They were all very tasty and delicious. Staff was friendly and service with a smile. This is one of our favourite local cafe. Would recommend it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

AWWW, thanks for that!
Sorry about the late response. Somehow we missed a bunch of reviews =/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

We came here for a mothers day lunch. The service was very friendly, the coffee was yum and the menu selection was great. We will defiantly be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Justen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Awesome! That's just lovely to hear.
Sorry for the delay in responding-we missed a whole bunch of reviews somehow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Great location and atmosphere. Excellent food. Love the muffins and banana walnut loaf. Excellent coffee, strong.

Thank getdihere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Kia ora, thanks for the excellent review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

We went on the recommendation of our host and were presented with the breakfast and brunch menu at 2pm - so much delicious choice. The food was fantastic, it was just a shame about the coffee. Watery and bitter it rated as the worst coffee of our holiday.

Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats W, Owner at Cafe Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Great to hear you had a lovely lunch! Shame about the coffee - we are generally known as the best coffee place, so this is disappointing. Whoever was on barista duties that day really let you, and us down then=(
Sorry about the late response. We missed a bunch of reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Cinema also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Cafe Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing