We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
136
30
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
30
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade cookies glass of wine on arrival stone store requested an early check absolutely lovely place family stayed here chilly night home away from home quiet comfort salt water pool tropical feel friendly hosts bedroom cottage complimentary beer place to stay large spa bath
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2017

absolutely lovely place, hosts are so nice, room spotless, very comfy bed, sky tv, grounds are gorgeous, very quiet set off the road, pool and spa area,lovely welcome, close to the town and stone house, best motel by far in kerikeri.
reccommend to all visitors, we, ll be back!!

Room tip: spa bath room great, all set among trees, lots of bird life
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank errolin100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

We stayed at the Colonial House Motel for 4 nights in September. We were welcomed by Andrea and Alan when we arrived and they showed us to the Cottage with a glass of wine and sweet treats.

The cottage is very close to the pool and set among some nice gardens and fruit trees. The cottage had a veranda with outdoor furniture. The cottage was very clean and the decor was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. We liked having Sky and Netflix available to watch and the Wi-Fi worked well.

Andrea and Alan were such lovely people and happy to have a chat and they were very helpful in suggesting places to see in the area and they recommended a good tour to Cape Reinga that departs from Kaitaia that was a lot cheaper than tours leaving from Kerikeri and surrounding areas, so it was well worth the drive to Kaitaia. We had originally planned to drive ourselves all the way to Cape Reinga but are so glad we did the tour as it took us all the way along the 90 Mile Beach, something we couldn’t have done ourselves.

We loved our stay here and wish we could have stayed longer. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend the Colonial House Motel to anyone visiting Kerikeri.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ken2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Travelling extensively for work means we stay in a lot of places, and Colonial House Motel takes the cake. Such a beautiful and warm welcome from Andrea and Alan, the units are absolutely beautifully laid out with extremely comfortable beds and lovely attention to detail. The setting is picturesque and peaceful with gardens and it's peaceful, quiet, and no thought has been spared for your comfort. With incredible hosts I 10/10 recommend - a must stay!!!!!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank jess_cher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Great welcome from Andrea and Alan and an absolute joy to have two nights in their suites in such relaxed surroundings. Beautify garden. Spotless rooms. Great recommendations for local restaurants each night for dinner.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrydChicken, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you so much for your review, it's a pleasure to give restaurant recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Stayed for one night at this hotel,wished we had longer.The rooms are lovely and tastefully decorated,gorgeous crisp linen and very comfortable beds.The owner/hosts are charming and helpful exactly how customer service should be.We are retired airline employees and have stayed in accommodation places all over the world and this is up there with the best.Quiet situation and right next door to Wharepuke restaurant which serves delicious meals in a lovely subtropical garden setting.Don!t go past this place it is a gem,and their rates are pretty competitive,not cheap but totally value for money.Take a bow owners!!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_and_Andrea, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

We absolutely loved your review Sarah - thank you, thank you, thank you!!! Food@Wharepuke is delicious and Colonial House is extra special. We really do value feedback from such experienced travellers as yourselves. With much appreciation for you taking the time and trouble to write this review, hoping you can visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews