We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
133
30
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
30
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade cookies glass of wine on arrival requested an early check absolutely lovely place home away from home friendly hosts complimentary beer quiet comfort bedroom cottage comfortable beds staying longer subtropical garden little extras beautiful environment sky tv keri keri
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights but wouldn't do again. On arrival all seemed ok and the hosts Alan and Andrea are very nice. I got a welcoming glass of wine and a couple of mini bits of shortbread. However upon inspection the carpet hadn't been hoovered, there were ants in the kitchen but most worryingly around the bed and over and on the bed head-luckily they'd left some spray-however cobwebs under the sink and in the bathroom and more alarmingly above the bed was not what I wanted to see. The rooms were meant to be serviced every day-I reported the cobwebs and some disappeared. However although they emptied the bins every day that's all they did-tea coffee etc was not replenished. The Internet was via a voucher but it kept cutting off so very annoying. On the good side the bed was very comfortable and nice toilet roll! The barbecue was for guests use which was good. Kerikeri is quite touristy but has lots of eating places and is quite easy to walk to. There is a great walk through the forest to Rainbow Falls but allow more time than they say it will take you. The motel is expensive when compared with others and I think maybe the complex is too much for the owners to handle although I am sure they try their best as they are nice people but sorry now I've stayed at various motels in New Zealand there are nany more good ones at cheaper prices.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank tutupointe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2016

Hi tutupointe, Where to start?
Ants in summer are always a problem, they mostly come looking for water - it's just natural - and they can appear in a flash; that's why we provide a very effective insect spray.
On the first day you said you had a problem with WhatsApp– we fixed the problem and left a note for you since you were out. You did not acknowledge this, in fact we did not see you again at all during your 3 night stay.
That morning our housekeeper's infant son was rushed urgently to hospital and so we actually serviced your unit. We tidied the kitchen, cleaned the bathroom, replaced towels, your bed was already made. It is certainly possible that we forgot to top up your hospitalities, but on the second day our very methodical and highly efficient housekeeper would most definitely have replenished your teas and coffees etc. and fully serviced your unit.
Dave your partner mentioned to us that “Christine has a thing about cobwebs” and could we please check out your unit. We therefore got the ladder to search for cobwebs. The few cobwebs we found were quickly removed and apologies for that.
We had many pleasant chats with Dave your companion and if you had needed anything, why did you not ask or ask him to ask? We are only too happy to help. We would gladly and promptly have given you whatever was required, even more portions of our delicious home-made cookies-of-the-day!
But enough of subjective perceptions, let's now present the facts. You stayed in a newly renovated studio unit with corner spa, rain shower, top quality fixtures and fittings. If you check an independent source, say Booking.com, that displays a price rating system (1 dollar $ LOW to 5 dollars $$$$$ HIGH) we are rated at the 2 dollar $$ level, i.e. not absolute budget but very reasonably priced. Now a quick check shows that very few motels in Kerikeri offer rooms with corner spas, certainly there are no others in the 1 dollar $ or 2 dollar $$ price bracket - we offer the cheapest spa room of any motel in Kerikeri - so you’re probably thinking of another place when you say we are expensive. Not worth it???
Happy holidays, Alan & Andrea
BTW we are so happy that you liked our toilet roll, 3-ply of course!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016

I went with my wife and our 3 kids and all the staff were so friendly and accommodating. Everything was so easy. A home away from home, the pool was perfect for doing my laps and for the kids who are still learning to swim. And we could even play backyard cricket, and so close to shops and cafes . Will be staying there next time for sure. Thanks heaps!

Stayed: January 2016
Thank DaveSheehan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Hi Dave,
Your review is very very much appreciated. It is great to see a family laughing, playing and having fun together, especially enjoying our super salt-water pool.
Looking forward to your next trip, hopefully in April.
With many thanks and very best regards, Alan & Andrea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016

The motel is an older style but very comfortable and with a recently renovated bathroom that includes high quality fixtures and a spa bath. Insect screens are fitted on doors and windows, and the location is quiet and secure so everything could be left open on warm evenings. The setting is delightful with mature gardens and a very peaceful feeling. However, it is about the midpoint between town and the Stone Store (10 minutes walk to either) so very handy. The staff are very welcoming and friendly and gave great recommendations for places to visit and to eat.

Room Tip: Families may prefer a room overlooking the pool but all rooms will be quiet and comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 405Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Hi 405Sally, Thank you so much for your lovely review; so informative and insightful.
We really love our location - the motel itself having a very special ambiance. Our tagline is "Your Quiet Place" in Kerikeri. We hope that you can visit us again soon. Best always, Alan & Andrea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Alan and Andrea have created a truly comfortable place to stay in Kerikeri. It starts with a warm welcome. We got our choice of wine, these sweet biscuits, and our choice of milk which the proprietors carried to our room. We received a guided tour of our room and was shown where everything was - the heat was even turned on for us in advance because the proprietors thought we might be chilly from the rain.

They were very knowledgeable of the area and its attractions. We had inside knowledge on great places to visit and cool things to do.

Internet access was really fast - quick enough to stream HD after a long hard day. You get access via generated wifi codes that you can get from the front office. They come free of charge and they will give you as much as you need.

The rooms were large and comfortable, offering good amenities. There's the usual microwave and fridge. There's a stove and dishes, flatware, and cooking implements.

The location was great, offering near instant access to town and nearby attractions. We had a truly awesome time.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Bernard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Wow Bernard, you are amazing! Such a wonderfully detailed and descriptive review! Very well done - are you possibly a feature writer / photographer back home? It was so lovely to have you and Melanie as our guests. We hope you enjoyed your stay in the beautiful Bay of Islands and most especially your scuba diving. We thank you sincerely for your time and trouble. Please do come and visit us again, Alan & Andrea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. Set in a very peaceful location, two minutes out of Kerikeri, I HIGHLY recommend this motel. Comfortable, with free wifi, two bedrooms (one queen size and two singles, plus a sofa bed in the living area), there's plenty of room for the family. With a swimming pool and easy walking distance into town. One tip though - one shared cooked breakfast (delivered to your door) is plenty for the couple who aren't big eaters! Thank you Alan and Andrea for a very enjoyable stay!!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alandie, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2015

Thank you David for your wonderful review. We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in the beautiful Bay of Islands and not forgetting your very special memories at Cape Reinga. Wishing you and Helen a super dynamic holiday in New Zealand. It was so lovely to meet you both. Thank you once again, Alan and Andrea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews