We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
$153
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Chris H
Very disappointing.
Review of Avalon Resort
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Jan 2021
I booked with them over the phone and asked for email confirmation but that was never received so I had to ring to check. On arrival, the greeting was very lack lustre from a rather sloppy host. The room was very tired with mouldy curtains, lights that didn't work, chairs that were broken, a table that was broken and other irritations.
This Lodge has the most amazing setting but is so neglected it is a real pity. It has a 4 star rating but there is no way it is up to this standard.
Date of stay: December 2020
Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend any room if they are like the one we had.
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Kerikeri Homestead Resort Pool
Booking.com
$224
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $226
0.7 km from Avalon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Great place to meet !
Booking.com
$403
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    $396
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Avalon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$212
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Avalon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Studio Unit
Booking.com
$218
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    $214
  • Hotel Website
    $218
1.8 km from Avalon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$221
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    $222
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Avalon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $356
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Avalon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $176
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
1.3 km from Avalon Resort
Free parking
Pool
Relax and cool off
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $190
  • Hotels.com
    $190
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Avalon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    $210
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Avalon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Native Woodpigeons at Wharepuke Kerikeri
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $180
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $180
2.0 km from Avalon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kerikeri
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
190
32
10
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
190
32
10
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2020 via mobile

Had a great stay st Avalon Resort with family. The owner Vilem was a great host, very friendly and accommodating. Facilities were excellent and our studio had everything we needed and especially a huge comfy bed. Will stay again there when next there for a holiday :)

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rosanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2020 via mobile

Relaxing and beautiful space. The sound of the flowing water downhill through the natural pool made the whole place seem calming. Room was beautiful and the spa was great. Perfect for a couples weekend away.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2020

Have to be really honest here. Average at best, pics look great yet the place is really in need of a good clean / is very dated. Our room stunk of cigarette smoke on arrival, there were nail clippings left in the bedside cabinets & the room was really stuffy / no way to have airflow without bugs, and to top it off there was cockroaches in the bathroom. I think we got the most budget room on the property but for $130 per night we would not bother again, Kerikeri is beautiful but this place is in need of TLC. Would not go here again or reccomened.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tidykiwi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 May 2020

We stayed here during a couple of days in Kerikeri. It’s hidden away just off the road through town. Had no idea this place existed. We had a nice little bungalow with an outside deck. Perfect just to relax, read and chill out. Check-in/out good and straight forward.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank seadragon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2020 via mobile

Nowhere on their site do they mention the presence of mosquitoes. I booked online and on arrival was shown the room I had booked along with the location of two cans of spray for mosquitoes. The one and only small window had an insect screen, no screen for the only external opening glass door. My Partner has Ross River virus as it is and we would never stay anywhere with an acknowledged mosquito presence. The room itself was small, dark and external vegetation was very close, no doubt encouraging the habitat for mosquitoes. Although requested, no refund was forthcoming. We were very disappointed and certainly feel that the omission of making mention of mosquitoes is an error. An error if omission. We will not be back.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank M2RDjanetp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews