We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
$290
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
$273
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
M2RDjanetp
Korolevu

Mosquitoes

Review of Avalon Resort
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Mar 2020via mobile
Nowhere on their site do they mention the presence of mosquitoes. I booked online and on arrival was shown the room I had booked along with the location of two cans of spray for mosquitoes. The one and only small window had an insect screen, no screen for the only external opening glass door. My Partner has Ross River virus as it is and we would never stay anywhere with an acknowledged mosquito presence. The room itself was small, dark and external vegetation was very close, no doubt encouraging the habitat for mosquitoes. Although requested, no refund was forthcoming. We were very disappointed and certainly feel that the omission of making mention of mosquitoes is an error. An error if omission. We will not be back.
Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $362
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Avalon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kerikeri Homestead Resort Pool
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $230
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Avalon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $174
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Avalon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $212
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.5 km from Avalon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $166
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Avalon Resort
Free parking
Pool
Our salt water pool
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $217
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Avalon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Studio Unit
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $213
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Avalon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Relax and cool off
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $198
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Avalon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $216
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Avalon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Native Woodpigeons at Wharepuke Kerikeri
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $180
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Avalon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kerikeri
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
190
32
10
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
190
32
10
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2020

This is a unique place to stay in an almost idyllic environment, (unexpectedly) away from the bustle of Kerikeri, yet close enough to be part of it. The "rooms" are all really spacious and differently decorated, and equipped with good facilities. The host was really helpful and keen to ensure his guests' comfort. Could have done with some teaspoons and tumblers!

Room tip: They are all unique and comfortable.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RAFwherever
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2020

Very nice outlook from room
Bed was comfy & room was very nice.
Kitchen facilities as well.
Parking could be a real problem if all the rooms are booked out.
Heating was by a stand alone heater.
well appointed bathroom

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2020 via mobile

Only spent one night here, but appreciated the gorgeous setting, location and warm welcome. We stayed in Emerald, which was superbly equipped and very comfortable. Had a lovely cup of coffee on the wooden deck outside the room listening to the sounds of the birds before hitting the road again.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

We absolutely loved our four days here..what a lovely bit of hidden away paradise so close to amenities and great value for money. It's not 5 star but then your not paying for five star. It was perfect for the kids. We had a devine fresh water pool very close to our rooms. Spa and sauna and then also a stunning fresh flowing stream/river to kayak and swim in too. It was very clean and tidy and staff friendly but also left us be. We went on to stay at the Wairaki resort after that and our son thought Avalon by far the best!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2019 via mobile

Driving into the resort felt like you were transported into the countryside, certainly didn’t feel like you were in a town, also it was nice to see some native wildlife around the grounds. The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable, it was also very peaceful and quite. I would note that the drive in from the main road is about 0.5km, downhill, there is a very good Indian restaurant, madly Indian, right by the entrance (and its sign makes it a bit hard to see the sign for Avalon and there is a gardening centre on the other side of the entrance) other than that you are a bit away from restaurants for dinner. Overall a very enjoyable one night stay.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Irish_Kiwi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews