We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food: A delicious Indian meal”
Review of Aroma India

Aroma India
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Greytown
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We sell Indian and Indo-Chinese food suited to meat-lovers, vegetarians and vegans. We are happy to discuss any dietary requirement you may have.
Restaurant details
Description: We sell Indian and Indo-Chinese food suited to meat-lovers, vegetarians and vegans. We are happy to discuss any dietary requirement you may have.
Reviewed 28 August 2020 via mobile

Food:
A delicious Indian meal with generous portions. We enjoyed a vegetarian mixed platter (note the tandoori mushrooms, onion and tofu was very spicy) and lamb sheekh kebabs for entree. Yum!
Our mains: Prawn Malabari, Chicken Korma, Chiken tikka masala, chicken jalfrezi. Basmati rice, garlic naan and cheesy garlic naan. Absolutely faultless, so enjoyable.
Service:
The front of house staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the dishes. However, they could do with some better training in collecting plates without a tray. Dishes were awkwardly piled up on the tray with cutlery falling off and then these were taken to a waiting trolley near the main counter, for delivery to the kitchen at a later time. I have never witnessed this. Later on the trolley was wheeled out into the table area to clear more dishes. This was pretty tacky to say the least.
Atmosphere:
It was warm and cosy and the seating was comfortable. The background music could have improved the ambiance if it was better. Started off with a CD that was glitching followed by possibly YouTube music with intermittent ads. This was loud enough to be a bit annoying.
We would return for dinner but possibly to get takeaways. The food was definitely the highlight!

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank melissasO2213BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2020 via mobile

Have been to Aroma Indian many times but on this visit the service was shocking.

The young man taking the order struggled with getting the order written down and mixed up my partners dish bring a quite hot Chicken Manchuria rather than a mild dry spiced chicken dish.
All dishes were delivered and precariously arranged around the table with my dish left on the opposite side of the table.

The food itself was fantastic as always. The naan outstanding.

And in these times of Covid-19 Level 2 and social distancing there was a real lack of this being practiced. Shame.

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 February 2020

We were lucky to get a table without a reservation.4 adults, 3 kids and a baby.
Everything was great.
Service was fast and friendly.
Food came out really quickly!
We had a Bhuna, Butter and Korma chicken as well as a few plain and garlic naan. All of them were yum.
Only thing to beware of is that it is BYO only, have the usual soft drinks and yummy Lassi but no alcohol.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Deltag666
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aroma India R, Marketing at Aroma India, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2021

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your meal. We appreciate you took time to review our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2020

My partner and I came to this lovely restaurant for dinner and had a sensational saag! The staff were fantastic and efficient! Would also recommend pairing with a side of perfect coconut rice and yummy naan and papadams! We will be back!

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank 224amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aroma India R, Marketing at Aroma India, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2021

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2020

We have tried all the Indian restaurants in the Wairarapa and Aroma is so far the best. Their food is very well flavored and portioned. They also offer delivery which is well priced and quick.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aroma India R, Marketing at Aroma India, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2021

Dear customer
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We're happy that you're happy, and we're looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aroma India also viewed

Greytown, Wairarapa
 

Been to Aroma India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.