We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, dismissive and mediocre”

The White Swan Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 16 Restaurants in Greytown
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Wairarapa paddocks serve up some of the best seasonal and organic produce we’ve ever stumbled across. Come and savour some with a local drop.
Reviewed 8 August 2021

Went for a birthday lunch with old family friends. Service was vaguely okay, but staff would rather watch the TV than pay attention to customers. We asked for the TV nearest us to be turned off as children weren’t paying attention to their meals. Was told ‘people are watching it’ and ignored despite no one else nearby. Food was edible, but not great. Ordered steak and was not asked how I wanted it cooked; was rather over-done, as were the chips. Environment was nice enough but would have been better without massive flashing TV screens on every wall. Really distracting.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank BahrniR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2021

We loved being in the White swan restaurant. It was decorated for Xmas and just beautiful. The service was really good.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank LauraLa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2021

Having made a booking by phone I received two phone calls from the staff - one to ask if we would like to change the time of our booking as they knew they had 17 people arriving at the same time as us - we took the option to arrive half an hour earlier which was great and great attention to detail on their part.
The second call was to advise that the menu had changed and, again, giving us the option to cancel if that impacted our choice in any way - it didn't - but again, great to have the heads-up and choice.
Chicken liver parfait was lovely but the duck breast was not rendered well leaving the skin less than pleasant to eat. We did have the option to enjoy the Christmas menu (Christmas festival for the month of July) but the meat was venison which does not spell Christmas for us - we would have preferred turkey.
The waitress we had was lovely but completely rushed off her feet which meant there were quite a few delays between courses.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank hayman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 July 2021 via mobile

Beautiful themed rooms and staff very accommodating.
The resturaunt was very busy with a large contingent all wanting a meal at the same time. A very kind staff member offered us dinner in our room which we accepted.. The steak was cooked to perfection ( we asked for rare ), and perfect hand cut chips complimented the dish. Probably the best steak and chips we've ever had. Will definitely return to the White Swan!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Odyssey618654
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2021 via mobile

This pub is in a beautiful old building with a great story about the White Swan boat, hence the name. We came here for pre dinner drinks at the bar then dinner. The food was served quickly. It promised much but wouldn’t rave about the food. They had a bit of smoke in the restaurant part the night we were there. The staff handled it well , apologising to patrons. I’m keen to return and stay a night in one of the nice rooms.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Weetbix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The White Swan Restaurant also viewed

Greytown, Wairarapa
 
Greytown, Wairarapa
 

Been to The White Swan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.