We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute must”
Review of Salute Restaurant

Salute Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Greytown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 7 November 2018

We had the most awesome dinner at Salute, on the recommendation of our host Sarah at Greyfriars Motel. Mediterranean inspired tapas and main dishes, exquisitely presented and so tasty. The wine was lovely, the service exceptional. We will definitely return.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Janine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaluteGreytown, Owner at Salute Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for joining us. We could not be happier that you enjoyed your experience at Saluté. We are very fortunate to have a fantastic team both in the kitchen and out front who take great pride in their efforts. We look forward to your return and wish you all the best.
We also send a big thank you toSarah at Greyfriars Motel for recommending us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2018

Stopped in for lunch on Friday. Only my second visit since this place changed hands. Just awful. Over salty arancini, burnt chorizo all through the slaw, dry chicken and macaroni cheese bites similar to the pizza hut version. In a work - Yuk. Won't be back sorry. Real disappointment.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Treen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaluteGreytown, Manager at Salute Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

While unfortunate to hear, we stand completely by our food and service. We will do our due diligence to investigate this further, but find ourselves confused by your review. You finished all of your dishes without complaints. If you took issue with anything we brought you, you could have returned them at any time when our wait staff asked you. We checked on your party throughout the meal and each and every time we asked how everything was, including when you paid, you responded that everything was “good” with a smile. While we do not expect to be everyone’s cup of tea, we ask you to raise any issues when they are occurring as we make every attempt to rectify such.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

We were late in arriving at the Saddlery (our accommodations) so they offered to call Salute to see if we could "sneak in" at the end of the serving period. How delightful it was to be greeted at the door. The menu begs staying for more than one meal! There were choices for every type of eater .. and everything we ate was delicious. My favorite was the pork belly. I didn't have room for dessert, so they boxed it up for me to take back to our rooms. Conversation was friendly with lots of good tips on places nearby to see. Tremendous love and care is included with every minute at Salute!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank bonnie lee k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaluteGreytown, Owner at Salute Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Thank you, Bonnie, for such a kind review. We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed and appreciated our place. It was our complete pleasure welcoming you here and look forward to a return visit if you find yourself visiting Greytown again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

Two of us enjoyed a tapas meal last night and would definitely return to this restaurant. The meals were very tasty, the service was friendly and attentive, and the restaurant has a happy and relaxed vibe.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vaudeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaluteGreytown, Owner at Salute Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

We thank you for taking the time to give us a great review. We are truly happy you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

Recommended by local motel. Dining alone.Friendly welcome, seated promptly. Pre-dinner drinks service slow , ordered main only, Pork Belly was nice but below expectation , not worth NZ38. Local pinot noir was slow to arrive but was the highlight and complimented the main nicely. Restaurant is perhaps a little overrated.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wrassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaluteGreytown, Owner at Salute Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We cannot expect everyone to like what we offer but we are diligent in assuring that all of our dishes are competitively priced with other restaurants in the Wairarapa.

More importantly, we were concerned with your statements regarding slow service, as our wait staff take great pride with their service. We expect our staff to not rush guests or turn tables quickly to make an extra dime. Our philosophy is to create a respite from the quick pace of life outside our restaurant. We believe that food, wine, company and conversation are meant to be enjoyed and it is our aim to relax our guests and take time to do so.

After researching with our staff, we also checked our booking and ordering systems which time stamp everything from when you arrived, what was ordered and when, etc.

We discovered that you were seated, given menus and specials, ordered and delivered a Tui Beer, all within a total of 8 minutes after you walked into our restaurant.
At the time your beer arrived, you ordered the Pork Belly Main.
While we again appreciate you might have liked to have your wine immediately with your meal, it was not until your Pork Belly Main arrived at your table 7 minutes after you ordered it that you asked for the Big Sky Pinot Noir. Your waitress immediately put the order into the system and the Pinot Noir arrived at your table a couple minutes later. After finishing your Main, you ordered our Lemon Fritters for dessert.

It is unfortunate that you had a different expectation. We do have occasional guests who are short on time due to other commitments. Should you find yourself in our restaurant in the future and in a similar situation, please inform your wait staff and I can assure you that we will do our best to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salute Restaurant also viewed

Greytown, Wairarapa
 
Greytown, Wairarapa
 

Been to Salute Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing