We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty lunch”
Review of Main Street Deli

Main Street Deli
Ranked #4 of 4 Quick Bites in Greytown
Price range: US$11 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Afternoons spent sitting in the sun, drinking freshly roasted coffee, laughing with friends, and listening to the birds sing. this is the heart of greytown. this is the main st. deli. enjoy our fresh home baking, taste our salads crafted from fresh seasonal ingredients, sample a range of artisanal deli foods, and take home a jar of our signature homemade preserves. we've also expanded our deli and given our courtyard garden a gorgeous makeover. head outdoors to the quiet rear courtyard, sit amongst the maples and enjoy all the main st. deli has to offer.
Reviewed 21 April 2021

The chicken teriyaki salad was much better this time round here. Everything was tasty, service was good.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sunnyday11nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2021 via mobile

Mushrooms drowned in balsamic vinegar , coffee arrived 10 minutes before meal- forgot orange juice expensive for what it was

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank jandarrylm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2021 via mobile

Stopped here for a late lunch and received good friendly service. Partner had a beef pie and coffee and a slice and I had an iced chocolate and piece of cake. Unfortunately the pie was mainly gravy with two small pieces of meat and lots of pastry! My piece of cake was a bit tasteless,however the drinks were good. It was in nice setting with outside dining available.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Judave
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 December 2020

Dropped in after a long day in the Tararuas. Kitchen was closed (as were most other Greytown cafes). There was a very limited vegetarian selection, so we went for two cheese and onion toasties and a chickpea salad. The toasties turned up lonely on the plate - no relish, garnish or anything. But they were quite edible. The chickpea salad was *terrible* - the chickpeas had either been half-cooked and then fried, or they had been left out for days to dry. They were tough as old boots. How can you get chickpeas wrong?

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 December 2020

Its the highly processed puree that tastes very average. The owners attitude sucks when you raise it too. no refund & no alternative offered.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank NZTrimojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Main Street Deli also viewed

Greytown, Wairarapa
Greytown, Wairarapa
 

Been to Main Street Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.